THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Peter Benoit: Religious Tetralogy

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Peter Benoit: Religious Tetralogy
Peter Benoit: Religious Tetralogy


Antwerp Symphony Orchestra presents its new CD, Religious Tetralogy, featuring four works by the Flemish composer Peter Benoit. The recording continues the Antwerp Symphony Orchestra's Benoit cycle.

This recording of Noel (1858), Messe Solennelle (1860), Te Deum (1862), and Requiem (1863), which Benoit thought of as components in a tetraptych of sacred pieces, continues the Antwerp Symphony Orchestra's Benoit cycle, which it launched in 2013 with a recording of the oratorio De Schelde. As an officially recognised Flemish cultural institution, the Antwerp Symphony Orchestra has a remit to preserve and disseminate Flemish musical heritage, and this cycle forms part of that mission. Recording for the Religious Tetralogy started in 2015 and continued for four years at various locations in Antwerp. Messe Solennelle, Te Deum and Requiem were performed in the Cathedral of Our Lady in Antwerp, during the 2015 and 2016 traditional cathedral concerts. Noël was recorded a year later, in 2017, at the Church of St. Charles Borromeo in Antwerp. Each performance was led by a different conductor: Martyn Brabbins (Messe solennelle and Te Deum), Edo de Waart (Requiem) and Jan Willem de Vriend (Noël).

Artists: Antwerp Symphony Orchestra Yves Saelens - Tenor Álvaro Zambrano - Tenor Antwerp Symphony Orchestra Namur Chamber Choir Octopus Symphony Chorus "In spite of having multiple tenors, locations, and conductors, Benoit's overall sound is maintained throughout by the use of the same choral and orchestral forces, who are uniformly excellent, especially the two choirs. Martyn Brabbins brings a lot of verve to the Messe Solenne and the Te Deum while Edo de Waart has a greater sense of line and shading in the Requiem but they both make the strongest case for Benoit's music...Recommended for all admirers of 19th century choral music." -MusicWeb International


  1. Name
  2. Benoit: Noel
  3. Benoit: Messe Solennelle I. Kyrie
  4. Benoit: Messe Solennelle II. Gloria
  5. Benoit: Messe Solennelle III. Credo
  6. Benoit: Messe Solennelle IV. Sanctus
  7. Benoit: Messe Solennelle V. Benedictus
  8. Benoit: Messe Solennelle VI. Agnus Dei
  9. Benoit: Te Deum
  10. Benoit: Requiem I. Requiem Aeternum
  11. Benoit: Requiem II. Dies Irae
  12. Benoit: Requiem III. Sanctus
  13. Benoit: Requiem IV. Benedictus
  14. Benoit: Requiem V. Agnus Dei
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock