THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Rough Guide Beethoven

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)
Catalog Number:
Rough Guide Beethoven
Rough Guide Beethoven


A composer of intense passion and power, Beethoven set the standard for others to follow. His symphonies, sonatas, concertos and other works completely revolutionized the history of music. The Rough Guide serves as a superb introduction to the intensely powerful, highly individual and ingenious music of Beethoven. Personnel: John Lill (piano), Anima Eterna, Jos van Immerseel (conductor), Radio Symphony Orchestra Stuttgart, Roger Norrington (conductor), Nicolaus Esterhazy Sinfonia, Michael Halasz (conductor), Edith Lienbacher, Inga Nielson, Kurt Moll, Herwig Pecoraro, Leipzig String Quartet, Kodaly Quartet, The Gaudier Ensemble, Jenö Jandö, Stefan Vladar (piano), Cappella Istropolitana, Barry Wordsworth (conductor) Bonus CD: Corydon Orchestra, Corydon Singers, Matthew Best (conductor) 'Beethoven: Mass in C major'. Despite Beethoven's prolific output in other genres he only wrote two masses - the Mass in C major and the magnificent Missa Solemnis. This bonus disc therefore presents some of the rarest work by the great composer. Beethoven's treatment of the Latin mass text is wonderfully interpretive and makes use of powerfully expressive word-painting techniques.


  1. Name
  2. Bagatelle No. 6 in E flat major, Op. 126: Andante Amabile
  3. Symphony No. 7 in A major, Op. 92: I. Poco Sostenuto
  4. Symphony No. 6, Op. 68: I. Allegro Ma Non Troppo
  5. Fidelio, Op. 72: Act I. Mir Ist So Wunderbar
  6. String Quartet No. 13, Op. 130: V. Cavatina
  7. String Quartet No. 9, Op. 59, No. 3: IV. Allegro Molto
  8. Septet in E flat major, Op. 20: III. Tempo Di Menuetto
  9. Piano Sonata No. 2, Op. 2, No. 2: IV. Rondo Grazioso
  10. Piano Concerto No. 1, Op. 15: III. Rondo. Allegro Scherzando
  11. Bagatelle No. 10 in E flat major, Op. 119: Allegramente
  12. Mass in C major Op. 86: I. Kyrie
  13. Mass in C major Op. 86: II. Gloria
  14. Mass in C major Op. 86: III. Credo
  15. Mass in C major Op. 86: IV. Sanctus
  16. Mass in C major Op. 86: V. Benedictus
  17. Mass in C major Op. 86: VI. Agnus Dei
  18. Ah Perfido Op. 65: I. Scena - Ah! Perfido, Sperguiro
  19. Ah Perfido Op. 65: II. Aria - Per Pietà, Non Dirmi Addio
  20. Ne Giorni Tuoi Felici WoO93.
  21. Tremate, Empi, Tremate Op.116
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock