THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Sugar Drops

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Gate Fold Vinyl
Catalog Number:
Sugar Drops
Sugar Drops


Limited Edition Color Vinyl with download card. "... part Bonnie Raitt, part Etta James and a little Amy Winehouse" - Star Tribune

"Davina Sowers is a one-of-a-kind performer whose singing has a sassiness bearing some comparison to that of heart-thumping blues queens Ma Rainey and Ida Cox." - Downbeat

'Sugar Drops' is the first album on Red House Records from Davina and the Vagabonds and marks the first time singer/songwriter/pianist Davina Sowers entered a proper studio to record an album. The Minneapolis-based artist holed up in Nashville's Compass Sound Studio with producer (and Compass Records co-founder) Garry West, along with her trumpeter, string arranger and husband, Zack Lozier, and a rotating cast of powerhouse players including Todd Phillips (David Grisman, Robbie Fulks) on bass, Doug Lancio (Patty Griffin, John Hiatt, Tom Jones) on guitar and Reese Wynans (Stevie Ray Vaughan, Joe Bonamassa) on Hammond B3. 'Sugar Drops' is distillation of bluesy barroom baritone and bravado, graveyard jazz grooves, and noir-ish confessional lyricism backed by boisterous piano, guitar, and strings. Eclectic, engaging and instilled with a deep respect and knowledge for the Great American Songbook, 'Sugar Drops' is the actualization of longstanding intent for Davina. "It represents about 100 years of Americana; I did exactly what I wanted to do," she says. Davina and the band are constantly on the road, touring throughout the world they've earned feverish acclaim from the Chicago Tribune, NPR, and more in addition to performing on BBC's international favorite late-night program Laterwith Jools Holland and appearing on PBS's Bluegrass Underground.


  1. Name
  2. Bone Collection
  3. I Can't Believe I Let You Go
  4. Devil Horns
  5. Little Miss Moonshine
  6. Sugar Drops
  7. Another Lonely Day
  8. No Matter Where We Are
  9. Mr. Big Talker
  10. Magic Kisses
  11. Deep End
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock