THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Beatles In Bossa

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:


Minas is a world music duet comprising Orlando Haddad and Patricia King. Minas reflects a perfect musical marriage with a stage presence and chemistry that only a lifetime can produce. Drawing on the passionate styles of Brazilian and American roots music, the two create a fresh and innovative sound. With a catalogue of 8 recordings released on their label Bluezul and a collection of over 100 songs, they have been building a reputation. Multi-talented as composers, vocalists and instrumentalists and equally comfortable in Brazilian jazz, folk and classical genres, Minas is now bringing their world music approach to the Beatles with their latest album titled ?Beatles In Bossa?.

This re-imagination of 14 songs by The Beatles is infused with American jazz and Brazilian styles of Bossa Nova, Samba, Choro, Partido Alto, Afox?, Marcha Rancho and Frevo. ?Blackbird? has a nylon-strung guitar and vocal intro that sets the tone for this Brazilian-themed arrangement. Minas transforms the melody to something new while still keeping the theme recognisable. The male and female vocals of Haddad and King blend beautifully as the band builds a relaxed Brazilian feel. John Swana plays an expressive Evi solo, adding a modern colour while still being vivid. Haddad wrote this creative arrangement with a fresh approach to this classic Beatles melody.

?With A Little Help From My Friends? is another Brazilian arrangement that is all Minas. The concept came from Haddad and King with the horn arrangement provided by Andrew Neu. Haddad's nylon-strung guitar keeps a Latin pattern as the horns accent the two vocalists trading melody phrases. Neu plays an exciting solo. The arrangement is rewarding, enabling us to hear the melodic lines, harmony, and orchestration from a different perspective. ?Beatles In Bossa? impresses with its natural, vibrant, and heartfelt presence, allowing us to hear and appreciate the colours and textures of the exceptional music of The Beatles through a Brazilian perspective and thoughtful performances.


  1. Name
  2. Blackbird
  3. Come Together
  4. She Loves You
  5. Day Tripper
  6. Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds
  7. I Will
  8. Can't Buy Me Love
  9. Eleanor Rigby
  10. Within You, Without You
  11. Here Comes The Sun
  12. Norwegian Wood
  13. With A Little Help From My Friends
  14. In My Life
  15. Get Back
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite