THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Food For Thought / Doing It To Death / Damn Right I Am Somebody

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)
Catalog Number:


  • Ladies and Gentlemen, there are seven acknowledged wonders of the world, you are about to witness the eighth. Standing in the spotlight, on showcase, twelve young men, who have given you such tunes as ‘The Grunt’, ‘Pass The Peas’, and ‘Gimme Some More’. Without any doubt, these are the J.B.'s!
  • That lyric says it all!
  • Robinsongs has great pleasure to bring you what must have been the World’s funkiest Band, and the Godfather Of Soul the legendary James Brown’s backing band The J.B.’s albums “Food For Thought”, “Doing It To Death” & “Damn Right I Am Somebody” in one double CD package.
  • Featuring some of the classic Funk Anthems such as ‘Gimme Some More’, ‘Pass The Peas’, ‘Hot Pants Road’ and the Number 1 R&B single ‘Doing It To Death’.
  • These albums were produced by James Brown, and although there are a few instrumentals like the mesmerising ‘Theme From King Heroin’, James Brown’s vocals are prominent and tracks such as ‘Escape-ism’ and ‘More Peas’ make you feel like you are also listening to a classic James Brown album.
  • But James is not the only well-known player on these albums, they also feature Fred Wesley, Maceo Parker, William (Bootsy) Collins, Bobby Byrd and the backbeat supreme Clyde (The Funky Drummer) Stubblefield are all out front as well as many other famous J.B.’s.
  • The “Damn Right I Am Somebody” album gave Fred Wesley lead billing as Band leader and the album was recorded during the same session as James Brown “The Payback” album, and you can tell as the album has a similar vibe. As the original album cover stated Think That You Are Somebody And You’ll Be Somebody – Positive Thinking.
  • This Double CD has fantastic sleeve notes that were written by Charles Waring contributor to MOJO & Record Collector.
  • Now on the One, Get Down, Get Funky, Get Loose…


  1. Name
  2. Pass The Peas
  3. Gimme Some More
  4. To My Brother
  5. Wine Spot
  6. Hot Pants Road
  7. The Grunt
  8. Blessed Blackness
  9. Escape-Ism Part 1
  10. Escape-Ism Part 2
  11. Theme From King Heroin
  12. These Are The J.B.S
  13. Intro To The Jbs
  14. Doin It To Death Part 1 & 2
  15. You Can Have Watergate, Just Give Me Some Bucks And I'll Be Straight (0:14)
  16. More Peas
  17. La Di Da La Di Day
  18. You Can Have Watergate, Just Give Me Some Bucks And I'll Be Straight (0:14)
  19. Sucker
  20. You Can Have Watergate, Just Give Me Some Bucks And I'll Be Straight
  21. Damn Right I'm Somebody
  22. Blow Your Head
  23. Im Payin' Taxes, What Am I Buyin'?
  24. Same Beat (Part 1)
  25. If You Don't Get It The First Time, Back Up & Try It Again, Parrty
  26. Make Me What You Want Me To Be
  27. Going To Get A Thrill
  28. You Sure Love To Ball

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock