THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

A Child's Christmas - Jazz Suite

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
A Child's Christmas - Jazz Suite
A Child's Christmas - Jazz Suite


Inspired by Dylan Thomas' short story, "A Child's Christmas in Wales", jazz legend Stan Tracey CBE has put pen to paper for the first time in over 10 years to compose a new suite, performed by his current quartet with the addition of Stan's 21 year old grandson, Ben Tracey, as narrator.

Very much in the mold of Stan's landmark recording "Under Milk Wood" Suite from the Sixties, this was another popular story in the Tracey household at that time and ever since. "I've always had a particular fondness for A Child's Christmas in Wales because it evokes so many memories of the festival when I was a child. I was, therefore, delighted when Clark suggested that I should write something based on Dylan's story and wondered why I hadn't thought of it first. I hope the music reflects some of the pleasure it has given me." Stan Tracey.

Personnel: Stan Tracey (piano), Simon Allen (saxophones), Andrew Cleyndert (bass), Clark Tracey (drums), Ben Tracey (narration)


  1. Name
  2. Overture to Times Past
  3. Narration 1
  4. Prothero's Dilemma
  5. Narration 2
  6. Wagging The Bag
  7. Narration 3
  8. Easy for Leonardo
  9. Narration 4
  10. Jinks
  11. Narration 5
  12. Pudding And Mince
  13. Narration 6
  14. Trolls
  15. Narration 7
  16. Overture to Times Past (Reprise)
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide