THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Pilgrimage: Mississippi To Memphis

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Pilgrimage: Mississippi To Memphis
Pilgrimage: Mississippi To Memphis


What happens if you take three young European artists (two Brits and a Finnish girl), all musically rooted in the Blues, yet untraditional in their approach, on a journey of discovery to the American South - in short a Blues pilgrimage? This release is the answer. Ruf's original plan was to include New Orleans in the recording locations but one week before the sessions were due to start, hurricane Katrina flooded the studio. In the event nine tracks were recorded over four days in the old-fashioned yet atmospheric Delta Recording Studio in Clarksdale, Mississippi, and a further four tracks over three days in the far more sophisticated Ardent Studios in Memphis, Tennessee. All but one of the tracks are originals written by one or other of the three featured stars. Thomas Ruf comments: "The endless fun we all had during the 'pilgrimage' is undoubtedly reflected in the music you hear on this record. The trip inspired a good deal of soul searching and maybe even some re-evaluation of musical values. I personally have not felt this excited about the music making process since the sad loss of Luther Allison in 1997. In just seven days of recording I was able to witness my three young artists develop, grow, and rediscover themselves in the wonderful American art-form we call the Blues."


  1. Name
  2. 1010 Degrees
  3. All The Time
  4. Heal Me Love
  5. Last Love Song
  6. You Don't Know
  7. Too Much To Hide
  8. Mississippi Lawnmower Blues
  9. Blues Caravan
  10. Funky Mama
  11. Dreamland Blues
  12. Twinkle Toes Willie
  13. Time Bares Witness
  14. Jam With Mister Tater The Music Maker
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite