THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Songs From The Road

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)
Catalog Number:
Songs From The Road
Songs From The Road


The natural habitat of the true musician is not the gleaming studio, glitzy showbiz party or five-star hotel. It's the road. And if Mike Zito had a dollar for every mile of tarmac he's burnt since his breakout in the early-'90s, they'd be piled up to his chin. "There's just something in me," considers the solo bandleader and Royal Southern Brotherhood co-founder. "It's there in all musicians. You gotta love the road to be a part of this world. You're right there, meeting people, swapping stories, shaking hands" There's an undeniable romance about a life in motion and an enduring magic about the moment when the house lights go down, the roar goes up and the shadows walk onstage. For Mike, who began touring the Midwest circuit at the age of eighteen, and has since crossed twenty-plus countries as guitarist with the Brotherhood, this is when things get serious. "In my band, The Wheel, if you're not there already, you'd better get there," he grins. "Because otherwise we're gonna knock you down!" Songs From The Road is a two-disc set that captures Mike at full flight on his adopted home-turf. "This DVD and live album were recorded on January 10th, 2014, at Dosey Doe in The Woodlands, TX, to a sold-out crowd of crazy Texans," he remembers. "The audience was on fire from the first note. The band played with such energy and passion. I was overwhelmed many times throughout this performance by the sheer energy of love that poured out of every soul in that building. It was a truly magical night, one I'll never forget." Songs From The Road ensures nobody else will, either, with this release bottling the push 'n' pull between Mike and his all-star lineup of Jimmy Carpenter (sax/vocals), Scot Sutherland (bass/vocals), Lewis Stephens (piano/organ) and Rob Lee (drums/percussion). "With the guys in The Wheel," explains the bandleader, "we're all on the same page. We're not interested in trying to show off individually. We want to play together." White-hot chemistry meets world-class material on Songs From The Road, whose setlist dips into pivotal moments from Mike's storied past. There's Greyhound: the gritty travelogue recalling the desperate events of September 2002, when a drug-addicted Mike stole his father's credit card and bought a one-way bus ticket to Florida. "I decided I'd be doing everybody a favour if I just left, got as far away as I could go," he remembers. On the emotional flipside, there's Rainbow Bridge, written about the rush that a reformed Mike felt on the final approach to home. "The Rainbow Bridge is one of the tallest bridges in the South," he explains. "I would have to drive to Louisiana to play gigs, and then I'd drive home over that Rainbow Bridge. And I knew that when I was hitting the bridge, I was almost home." Longtime Zito fans in the Dosey Doe crowd would have been waiting for Pearl River: the song co-written by Mike and Cyril Neville in reference to civil rights campaigner Dick Gregory, which planted the seed for the Royal Southern Brotherhood. Likewise, the cheers are deafening for the title track of last year's Gone To Texas album. "Part of the story of that song," he notes, "is that historically, people go to Texas to get their lives together. And I did too." True enough. Ask Mike for his backstory and he'll give you the cold, hard truth. In his own words, the bandleader "grew up poor in St. Louis", in a blue-collar family whose father grafted 40-hour weeks at the local brewery. Ten years working at a downtown guitar shop, and the tutelage of an older employee, exposed him to titans like B.B. King, the Allmans and Eric Clapton (and from there, Joe Pass, Robert Johnson and Blind Willie Johnson), and though he was fired from early cover bands for refusing to mimic the solos, by 1997, he had released debut album Blue Room. "The first time you hear yourself," recalls Mike, "you think, 'Wow, that almost sounds like music!'" There were bumps in the road, of course. By the post-millennium, creeping alcoholism and drug abuse had threatened to rob Mike of his talent and livelihood. For a time, all seemed lost. But since the epiphany of meeting his beloved wife ("I give her all the credit in the world"), Mike has blossomed as both a man and musician, and in 2014, he can reflect on a run of thrilling solo albums, plus two world-beating studio releases with the Brotherhood. "It's all working out," he beams, "and I couldn't be more thankful." Happy, successful, surrounded by his loving family and juggling a fistful of celebrated projects, perhaps you'd understand if Mike were content to rest on his laurels and watch the royalties roll in. Not a chance. In 2014, as Songs From The Road proves, that endless freeway is still a siren-call that this lifelong road-dog can't ignore. "The road is part of the story," he concludes, "and that's why there are so many songs about it. When a tour ends, I can't wait to get home. But by the week after, I'm itching to get back out there. It's like the song says, the road never ends."


  1. Name
  2. Introduction
  3. Don't Break A Leg
  4. Greyhound
  5. Little Red Corvette
  6. Rainbow Bridge
  7. Pearl River
  8. Hell On Me
  9. C'mon Baby
  10. Judgment Day
  11. Dirty Blonde
  12. Subtraction Blues
  13. Gone To Texas
  14. Don't Break A Leg
  15. Greyhound
  16. I Never Knew A Hurricane
  17. Hell On Me
  18. Pearl River
  19. Dirty Blonde
  20. One Step At A Time
  21. Subtraction Blues
  22. Judgment Day
  23. Gone To Texas
  24. Let Your Light Shine On Me
  25. Natural Born Lover
  26. Texas Flyer
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide