THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Folk Singer-Humdinger 1961-1962

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)
Catalog Number:
Folk Singer-Humdinger 1961-1962
Folk Singer-Humdinger 1961-1962


Now an internationally venerated and still sometimes audience-baffling 72 year old, Bob Dylan started to be increasingly broadly recognised as a significant songwriter and maverick entertainer between 1963 and 1965, depending on your local media coverage. For a couple of years before that he had been the new kid on the block within NYC's Greenwich Village community of rootsy troubadours. This 45 track 2CD set reveals his developing confidence and individuality during that formative period. They're not all polished performances. Along with professionally produced studio recordings from which his first commercial LP was compiled in March 1962, here are historic 1961-62 live recordings from NYC stage venues and radio broadcasts. They include earliest known recordings of some of his own compositions that would carry him onward, amidst a telling repertoire of his interpretations of the folk, blues, gospel and country songs that were firing him up at the time and inspired the adolescent would-be rocker from Minnesota to become the sparky sage of sixties sub-culture leading to worldwide recognition.


  1. Name
  2. Gospel Plow
  3. Hard Times in New York Town
  4. Baby let me follow you down
  5. Highway 51 Blues
  6. Talking New York
  7. Roll on John
  8. Hard Travellin'
  9. In my Time of Dyin'
  10. You're no Good
  11. Smokestack Lightning
  12. Man on the the Street
  13. 1913 Massacre
  14. Talking Bear Mountain Picnic Massacre Blues
  15. Fixin' to Die
  16. Stealin' Stealin'
  17. Baby please don't go
  18. A Hard Rain's gonna fall
  19. Song to Woody
  20. Don't think Twice, it's alright
  21. Handsome Molly
  22. Kind Hearted Woman Blues
  23. See that my Grave is kept clean
  24. House of the Risin' Sun
  25. Acne (feat. Ramblin' Jack Elliot)
  26. Freight Train Blues
  27. Mean old Southern Railroad (Feat. Danny Kalb, vocals)
  28. Rocks and Gravel
  29. Pretty Peggy-O
  30. Talking Merchant Marine
  31. Cocaine
  32. Ain't no more cane on the Brazos
  33. The Cuckoo
  34. Sally Gal
  35. Ballad of Hollis Brown
  36. Omie Wise
  37. Motherless Children have a hard Time
  38. I Heard that Lonesome Whistle Blow
  39. No more auction block
  40. Man of Constant Sorrow
  41. The death of Emmett Till
  42. Po' Lazarus
  43. Moonshine Blues
  44. John Brown
  45. In the Pines
  46. Song to Woody (Live)
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide