THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Welcome to This New World

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Welcome to This New World
Welcome to This New World


Pianist Stanley Cowell, known for his playing associations with Max Roach and Sonny Rollins, and guitarist Vic Juris, long time collaborator with David Liebman, are presented here in a surprising new context using real time electronics in an acoustic jazz context. To launch these explorations, Cowell uses a powerful computer system called Kyma to introduce a panoramic sweep of timbre and tonality and the musical results on Welcome To This New World are very new indeed.

Cowell and Juris certainly aren't strangers to each other as both have served for some time as faculty members of Rutgers-Mason Gross School of the Arts in the United States. This latest collaboration is unique, however, as it sees both musicians combine hardware and software to produce music that is both startlingly fresh but, with its use of "traditional" bass and drums, still very much part of the jazz aesthetic.

Personnel: Stanley Cowell (piano, Kyma, kalimba), Vic Juris (guitar), Tom DiCarlo (bass), Chris Brown (drums)


  1. Name
  2. An Overseas Memory
  3. Tinged
  4. Victim
  5. Duo Improvisation I
  6. Empathlectrik
  7. Invertisement
  8. Sun Burn
  9. Duo Improvisation II
  10. St. Croix
  11. Winter Reflections
  12. Welcome To This New World
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock