THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Sweet Love - Jason Parmer Plays Anita Baker

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:


The third and the last of trumpeter Jason Palmer's highly acclaimed mini-series of recordings of songs composed or made famous by his favourite lady singers, pays homage to the contemporary soul, R&B singer/songwriter, eight-time Grammy winner Anita Baker. "Sweet Love", the famous award-winning title from her second album "Rapture" (1987) turned Jason's attention to Baker's music.

"Hardly just a straight or smooth jazz take on classics by Minnie - and instead an openly creative project that takes the core structure of the songs, then pulls them apart - especially when it comes to the rhythms - so that the players continually revisit the lovely melodies created by Riperton, yet also fly free in musical moments inspired by her energy." - Jazz Chill of Dusty Groove on 'Take A Little Trip' (SCCD 31750).

"Palmer's intriguing release is the second in his planned series of homages to singers who have produced powerful music...Wondaland is more contemporary, celebrating the artistry of Janelle Monáe via jazzed-up arrangements of her songs...overall seems more interested in building on the beauty of Monáe's music with his arrangements than in flashing his chops. Which keeps this charming album a bona fide homage." - Bill Beuttler, Jazztimes on 'Wondaland' (SCCD31800).

Personnel: Jason Palmer (trumpet), Domi Degalle (piano), Max Ridley (bass), Lee Fish (drums).


  1. Name
  2. Fairy Tales
  3. Sweet Love
  4. Same Ole Love (365 Days Of The Year)
  5. Body And Soul
  6. Caught Up In The Rapture
  7. Giving You The Best That I Got
  8. No One In The World
  9. Angel
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock