THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Wake Up Awesome

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:
Wake Up Awesome
Wake Up Awesome


Wake Up Awesome, by C. Spencer Yeh (Burning Star Core), Okkyung Lee, and Lasse Marhaug (Jazzkamer), is the second chapter of Software Studio Series - a new venture in the Software Recording Co.'s expanding catalog that invites artists in the field of electronic music to create collaborative works of quality and vision. Inspired by the historical intersections of live performance and studio post-production, Wake Up Awesome is a modern kind of fusion in technique as well as genre. At it's core are three artists highly experienced with both instant and labored composition. Together, they found the studio generated improvisations were iteratively developed by each on their own. Passages of real-time improvisation duck and swerve into electro-concrete tangles of samples, edits and juxtaposition " all you'd want out of a world of mechanical possibility. If it sounds intentional on the record, it was. If Yeh and Marhaug's more electronic affinities in their respective practices place them as the "producers," then Lee's cello often leads the drive as a sort of soloist. The resulting conversation is genuinely both serious and iconoclastic. All three artists have a history of dialogue, but this is the first time they've hung out for the record - we're very happy that they did. Wake Up Awesome is available via the Software in limited vinyl edition as well as CD and digital formats.


  1. Name
  2. Wake Up Awesome
  3. Hairslide
  4. The Mermen of Poetry
  5. Ophelia Gimme Shelter
  6. The Mermaids of Extended Technique
  7. Magic Seagull Lamp
  8. Mission: Lazy
  9. Mission: Nothing
  10. Throw Down the Fishcake
  11. Neutrons Whatever
  12. Serious Cats Milk
  13. Anise Tongue and Durian Wet Dream
  14. Mission: Possible
  15. RSVP Skunk
  16. Tonight We Sleep Like Empty Hard Drives
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite