THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

The Early Years, 1958-1962

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
The Early Years, 1958-1962
The Early Years, 1958-1962


The lively, good humored Ramblers introduced generations to old-time string band music and influenced artists as diverse as Doc Watson and the Holy Modal Rounders. This collection of 26 songs and instrumentals highlights the virtuosity and splendid variety of 12 Folkways albums recorded by the original group (John Cohen, Tom Paley, and Mike Seeger). "...[A]musing in spots, touching in others and captivating all the way through..." The Fresno Bee


  1. Name
  2. Colored Aristocracy
  3. Hopalong Peter
  4. Don't Let Your Deal Go Down
  5. When First Unto This Country
  6. Sales Tax On Women
  7. Rabbit Chase
  8. Leaving Home
  9. How Can A Poor Man Stand Such Times and Live?
  10. Franklin D. Roosevelt's Back Again
  11. I Truly Understand You Love Another Man
  12. The Old Fish Song
  13. The Battleship Of Maine
  14. No Depression In Heaven
  15. Dallas Rag
  16. Bill Morgan And His Gal
  17. Fly Around My Pretty Little Miss
  18. Lady Of Carlisle
  19. Brown's Ferry Blues
  20. My Long Journey Home
  21. Talking Hard Luck
  22. The Teetotals
  23. Sal Got A Meatskin
  24. Railroad Blues
  25. On Some Foggy Mountain Top
  26. My Sweet Farm Girl
  27. Crow Black Chicken
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock