THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

The Girl I Left Behind Me

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
The Girl I Left Behind Me
The Girl I Left Behind Me


India Electric Company's debut album, The Girl I Left Behind Me, is the culmination of a year of writing and recording. Drawing on a theme of transience, the album explores non places, a sense of not belonging, the highs and lows of being on the fringes of society and all the associated raw emotions. Inspired by folk themes from Eastern Europe, Africa, through to Latin America, The Girl I Left Behind Me travels through diverse styles including gypsy jazz and Irish reels, with references including Buena Vista Social Club, The XX, Thomas Bartlett and Joanna Newsom. Whilst inevitably drawing on their own experiences as touring musicians, the lyrics borrow from Marvell, W.H. Auden, Ted Hughes and an 18th Century sea shanty. Their heritage and timelessness provide a shoulder for I.E.C.s explorations to lean on. Using traditional instruments in unconventional ways yields a fresh, contemporary counterpoint to the roots that bind them. Subbass accordions, prepared pianos, 16 part string arrangements and a large array of hand made percussion sections take the songs to Gullivarian lands whilst giving the sparser arrangements a contrasting home of their own. The acoustics of the Devonshire barn in which the album was recorded provides a unique sonic purity and unification. Sometimes decadent, sometimes introverted, The Girl I Left Behind Me finds a place far from the madding crowd.


  1. Name
  2. Lost In Translation
  3. Beirut
  4. Heimat
  5. Dreams
  6. The Thought Fox
  7. I Can't Make You Love Me
  8. My Friends Are Rich
  9. Joanna, Kate And Alice
  10. Eyes And Tears
  11. Doveman
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock