Humphrey Lyttelton 1959

Humphrey Lyttelton 1959

Humphrey Lyttelton

No of discs:
Stock Status
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Compact Disc

CD £11.99

(Free delivery and returns within the UK.)

Two classic Humphrey Lyttelton albums from 1959 reissued on a double CD for the price of one collection.

In 1959 Humphrey Lyttelton & His Band recorded two LPs and a single. All are included in the collection. The two LPs were very different in concept but became two of Lyttelton's most sought after, 'Humph Dedicates' and 'Triple Exposure'.

'Humph Dedicates' was a collection of tunes associated with Jazz legends (Armstrong, Ellington, Goodman, Hampton, Bechet etc) whereas 'Triple Exposure' featured tunes written by British composers: Harry South, Kenny Graham and Humphrey Lyttelton himself. Recorded within a few months of each other they capture one of Humph's classic Mainstream line-ups (Tony Coe, Jimmy Skidmore, Joe Temperley, John Picard et al) at its peak.

Despite their different approaches the two albums slot together seamlessly largely due to some superb arrangements. The set is enhanced by six previously unissued tracks.

Catalogue number: LACD282
Barcode: 5017116528224
Number of items: 1
Packaging Type: Jewel Case
Imported: No
Weight: 100g
Dimensions (L × W × H): 142mm × 10mm × 125mm
Song Title Time
1 Take The `A' Train -
2 When It's Sleepy Time Down South -
3 Swingtime In The Rockies -
4 I Can't Get Started -
5 Southern Sunset -
6 For Dancers Only -
7 Stompin' At The Savoy -
8 Midnight Sun -
9 Alligator Crawl -
10 Blue And Sentimental -
11 Marie; Nightmare -
12 Singin' The Blues -
13 Stompy Jones -
14 Manhunt; Summertime -
15 Finger Snapper -
16 It's All Up With I -
17 Swallowing The Blues -
18 One Day I Met An African -
19 Only For Men -
20 South Winds; Sweet And Sour -
21 Holy Main -
22 Any Kind Of Blues -
23 Kilroy Was Gone -
24 The House That Humph Built -
25 Lean Baby -
26 Rain; Big Bill Blues -
27 Weary Blues -