Pete Seeger In England (2CD)

Pete Seeger In England (2CD)

Pete Seeger

No of discs:
Stock Status
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Compact Disc

CD £11.99

(Free delivery and returns within the UK.)

The legendary American Folk singer's career had been seriously knocked off course by the McCarthy witch-hunts into Unamerican Activities in the USA affecting artists believed to be communists. At one stage Seeger was facing a ten year prison sentence, but he managed to visit the UK in 1958. The concert was recorded and issued by the Folklore label which emanated out of the Dobell's record shop on Charing Cross road in West London. In 1964 he was back again and at one concert, at Manchester's Free Trade Hall, he was recorded again.

Both concerts on this DOUBLE CD FOR THE PRICE OF ONE set are typical Seeger material of that time. He talks about his friends Leadbelly and Woody Guthrie and champions new songwriters like Tom Paxton and Malvina Reynolds. The concerts also give a wonderful insight to how Seeger worked an audience and had them eating out of his hand. His ability to engage the audience is an object lesson for young performers. The Folklore LPs had limited circulation and the Manchester concert has never been heard before. The booklet comes with an informative essay about Pete Seeger by Joe Stead.

Catalogue number: FECD273
Barcode: 5017116027321
Number of items: 2
Packaging Type: Jewel Case
Imported: No
Weight: 116g
Dimensions (L × W × H): 142mm × 10mm × 125mm
Song Title Time
1 Intro -
2 East Virginia -
3 Deep Blue Sea -
4 I Knew Leadbelly -
5 El Dia De Tu Santo -
6 Cumberland Bear Hunt -
7 Pretty Polly -
8 He Lies In The American Land -
9 One Big Fat Hen -
10 Leather Britches/jesu Joy Of Man's Desiring -
11 Suliram -
12 The Bells Of Rhymney -
13 John Riley -
14 Go Tell Aunt Rhody -
15 I Am A Union Woman/fare Y'well Old Ely Branch -
16 Which Side Are You On? -
17 The Scaler -
18 Talking Union -
19 The Water Is Wide -
20 Bayeza -
21 Abi-yo-yo -
22 I Never Will Marry -
23 She Moves Through The Fair -
24 How Beautiful Are The Nights In Israel -
25 Last Night I Had The Strangest Dream -
Song Title Time
1 Old Joe Clark -
2 The House Carpenter -
3 Medley -
4 Where Have All The Flowers Gone? -
5 What Did You Learn In School Today? -
6 Little Boxes -
7 Intro -
8 If You Miss Me At The Back Of The Bus -
9 Intro -
10 Pastures Of Plenty -
11 The Sinking Of The 'reuben James' -
12 Intro -
13 Mail Myself To You -
14 The Frog & The Mouse -
15 Shanties: Shenandoah/Louisiana -
16 Little Birdie -
17 Intro -
18 Guantanamera -
19 A Hard Rains Gonna Fall -
20 We Shall Overcome -