Inclined To Be Red

Inclined To Be Red

Greg Russell

No of discs:
Stock Status
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Compact Disc

CD £11.99

(Free delivery and returns within the UK.)

As part of the duo of Greg Russell & Ciaran Algar Greg has made three albums and won two BBC awards. Here he branches out on his own with a wide ranging programme of his own songs, traditional songs and songs by writers as diverse as Si Kahn and Mick Ryan.Most of the songs have a political bias. Greg has decided to keep it simple and straightforward with his powerful singing style and accomplished guitar accompaniment doing the work, but he has enlisted a little help from bass player Tim Yates - Nancy Kerr's Sweet Visitor Band and Blackbeard's Tea Party - and box player Archie Churchill-Moss - Moore. Moss & Rutter. Greg recently created the 'Shake The Chains' series of concerts and toured with 'The Transports' shows.

Catalogue number: FECD281
Barcode: 5017116028120
Number of items: 1
Packaging Type: Digipak
Imported: No
Weight: 48g
Dimensions (L × W × H): 140mm × 5mm × 125mm

“Hi all, Songlines have just sent me a PDF of the Europe reviews, see attached with Greg's within, quote wise how about "Russell's music and delivery exudes confidence and conviction."”


“"His own material is compelling…this is his moment, this is his time. One of the bright young folk destined to be a titan of the scene in years to come"”


“" 'Inclined To Be Red' will stand as a record of the natural progression of Greg Russell. A joy to appreciate the solo incarnation of a young musician who has created such a stir and made an indelible mark in the folk field in a short time."”


“"To the people who think politics has no place in music, like the man Russell met in that folk club, Inclined To Be Red is a timely reminder that the opposite is true. It is an album in which resignation and caution are explored, given space, and ultimately transcended by care and warmth, and it proves that music still can – and indeed must – engage with the world in a positive way. A gentle affirmation of the power of song"”

Folk Radio UK

“"This is a significant release. I wish it a fair wind."”

Living Tradition

“"Get a copy of this fine album and lend your voice."”

Mike Davies,

“"After such a storming 2017, Russell has established himself as a must-listen no matter what he's singing, or with whom."”

Morning Star

“"Some of these songs are quite hard-hitting but he doesn't hit you with them – he just suggests that you might care to listen."”

Dai Jeffries,

“"This excellent debut album reinforces Greg Russell's growing reputation as a significant player on the UK folk scene"”


“Quote wise, how about "His voice has the type of mature intensity which gives life to the range of songs on the album…it's clear to see why he's twice been a BBC Folk award winner in the past five years"”

Rock Society

“"The musicianship is superb, enough to sear the heart but never too much, the voice touches the soul and gives each song all the presence anyone could wish."”

Folk Words

“"Inspired by tradition, at times disquieting, it's a powerful statement"”

Acoustic magazine

“"All in all this is a wondrous item without a duff track anywhere in sight, which is exactly what you would expect from such a consummate musician as Russell".”


“How about "Jean Richie once said "Singing a folk song is about three things…past respected, present relevant, future assured" Greg ticks all three boxes"”

Tykes News
Song Title Time
1 E.g.a -
2 Farewell -
3 Road To Dorchester -
4 Joe Bowers -
5 Travelling Onwards -
6 Race To Burn -
7 Crooked Jack -
8 Bold Knight -
9 Willy-ole Lad -
10 Tomorrow You're Gone -
11 What You Do With What You've Got -
12 Storylines -