I'm A Romany Rai (2CD)

I'm A Romany Rai (2CD)

Various Artists

No of discs:
Stock Status
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Compact Disc

CD £13.99

(Free delivery and returns within the UK.)

The widely acclaimed "Voice Of The People" series continues with four further volumes of the finest Traditional Song, edited by Dr Reg Hall and compiled by some of the foremost folksong experts.

Shirley Collins was invited to select and present this remarkably powerful collection of songs by Southern English Traditional Singers from classic recordings made in the 1950s by Peter Kennedy and Bob Copper.

The emphasis in the presentation of this widely acclaimed series of the Voice of the People has been weighted towards the social lives and values of the performers. Shirley Collins is particularly well-appointed for working on the material contained in this volume and I'm a Romany Rai is that she knew Peter Kennedy and Bob Copper at the time they were making these recordings. She worked with both of them in various ways and was caught up at the time only thumbnail sketches. Some of the singers remain obscure

2 CD set in jewel case with 80 page booklet and slipcase.

Catalogue number: TSCD672D
Barcode: 0714822067225
Number of items: 2
Packaging Type: Jewel Case
Imported: No
Weight: 194g
Dimensions (L × W × H): 126mm × 16mm × 142mm
Song Title Time
1 Phoebe Smith: I'm a Romany Rai -
2 Tom Willett: The Roaming Journeyman -
3 Janet Penfold: Won't You Buy My Sweet Blooming Lavender? -
4 Rebecca Penfold: The Banks of Sweet Primroses -
5 Charlie Scamp: How Old Are You, My Pretty Fair Maid? -
6 Mary Fuller: Oh, What a Life -
7 Wally Fuller: The Game of Cards -
8 Charlie Scamp: Come, Father, Build Me a Boat -
9 Sheila Smith: Dear Father, Pray Build Me a Boat -
10 Phoebe Smith: Higher Germany -
11 Tom Willett: The Rose of Ardene -
12 Rebecca Penfold: Meeting is a Pleasant Place -
13 Jack Fuller: Briny O'Then -
14 Wally Fuller: The Bold Drunkards -
15 Chris Willett: The Little Ball of Yarn -
16 Jack Fuller: Green Grow the Laurels -
17 Rebecca Penfold: The Banks of the Sweet Dundee -
18 Charlie Scamp: Young Leonard -
19 Phoebe Smith: Down by the Sheepfold -
20 Chris Willett: Thorny Park -
21 Wally Fuller: The Bold Poachers -
22 Tom & Chris Willett: Down by the Tanyard Side -
23 Wally Fuller: I Am a Man That's Done Wrong to My Parents -
24 Charlie Scamp: Barbary Allen -
25 Charlie Scamp: A Blacksmith Courted Me -
26 Phoebe Smith: A Blacksmith Courted Me -
Song Title Time
1 Carolyne Hughes: The Soldier and the Lady -
2 Carolyne Hughes: The Sprig of Thyme -
3 Carolyne Hughes: A Blacksmith Courted Me -
4 Carolyne Hughes: The London Murder -
5 Carolyne Hughes & daughter: As I Was A-walking One May Summer's Morning -
6 Carolyne Hughes: Once I Had a Colour -
7 Carolyne Hughes: My Father He Built Me a Shady Bower -
8 Carolyne Hughes: Georgie -
9 Carolyne Hughes: Young Willie -
10 Carolyne Hughes: My Black Dog and Sheep Crook -
11 Carolyne Hughes: If I Were a Blackbird -
12 Carolyne Hughes: Down by the Old Riverside -
13 Carolyne Hughes: A Wager, a Wager -
14 Carolyne Hughes: The Brake of Briars -
15 Carolyne Hughes: The Bird in the Bush -
16 Carolyne Hughes: Flash Girls and Airy -
17 Carolyne Hughes: The Game of Cards -
18 Carolyne Hughes: Catch Me, Bold Rogue, If You Can -
19 Celia Warren: Jealousy Thoughts -
20 John Hughes: The Long Lost Child -
21 Carrie Hughes: Henry My Son -
22 John Hughes: Barbry Allen -
23 Carolyne Hughes & Daughter: Billy Boy -
24 Carolyne Hughes: The Cuckoo -
25 Carolyne Hughes: Died for Love -
26 Carolyne Hughes: Lord Thomas and Fair Ellender -
27 Carolyne Hughes: The Little Boy -
28 Carolyne Hughes: Adieu to Old England -
29 Carolyne Hughes: The Butcher Boy -
30 Carolyne Hughes: My Truelove Was a Sailor Lad -
31 Carolyne Hughes: Meet Me Tonight in the Moonlight -
32 Carolyne Hughes: Tuning -
33 Carolyne Hughes: The Draggle-Tailed Gypsies -