THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets


Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:


Award-winning drummer and composer Jonathan Silk releases his adventurous new album Fragment this November on Stoney Lane Records -- a set of striking, dynamic originals for big band and strings. A driving presence on the thriving Birmingham jazz scene since graduating from the city's Conservatoire in 2011, Jonathan's recording brings together key players from both Birmingham and London, conducted by fellow Scottish drummer Andrew Bain. Awarded the Scottish Young Jazz Musician of The Year in 2014, Jonathan is a rising star in UK jazz, having performed worldwide with stellar names from Soweto Kinch and Liane Carroll to Stan Sulzmann and Ian Ballamy. From the high-octane power of the 19-strong big band alongside the graceful 13-piece string section, Fragment gives subtle nods to Jonathan's Scottish roots, his world travels and the ever-changing natural landscape.There are strong US influences on Jonathan's writing, notably Brooklyn-based drummer Jim Black and saxophonist David Binney, to mentors and celebrated composers Maria Schneider and Vince Mendoza, with whom Jonathan studied over the past three years in Los Angeles and New York. He also cites his Birmingham teachers -- Tony Levin and Jeff Williams -- as formative in shaping his writing style. Fragment is Jonathan's second album -- and first for Stoney Lane -- following his debut self-release Uncouth in 2013. Fragment features an original artwork and painting commission by artist David Stanley. "An exciting collection of melodious, joyful and youthful new music created by a fine young musician Jonathan Silk. I'm sure we will hear plenty more from him in the coming years. Very reassuring hearing 'the music' in such good hands." -- Stan Sulzmann


  1. Name
  2. Introduction
  3. Buchaille
  4. First Light
  5. Prelude
  6. Barefeet
  7. Reflection
  8. In Thought
  9. Fragment
  10. Withdrawal
  11. Fool's Paradise
  12. Last Light
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock