THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Spellbound: Rare & Unreleased Motown Gems

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)
Catalog Number:
Spellbound: Rare & Unreleased Motown Gems
Spellbound: Rare & Unreleased Motown Gems



  • SoulMusic Records is very proud to present a sumptuous 33-track 2-CD set of classic recordings by the legendary Brenda Holloway drawn from Motown’s vaults and recorded between 1963-66.
  • SPELLBOUND has been compiled and produced by longtime Motown expert Paul Nixon, responsible for the successful “Cellarful Of Motown” series, who has carefully selected the tracks on this superb compilation by one of Motown’s most soulful singers. Included here are nine previously unreleased tracks (prior to the original pressing), along with rare cuts that had only been available digitally.
  • California-born Brenda Holloway became the first West Coast-based artist signed to Motown in 1963; within one year, she achieved US national success with the now-timeless classic, ‘Every Little Bit Hurts’; Brenda’s five further charted singles included ‘When I’m Gone’, ‘Just Look What You’ve Done’ and ‘You’ve Made Me So Very Happy’ (a song she co-wrote, later recorded by pop/rock group Blood, Sweat & Tears).
  • Although Motown only issued one LP, Brenda recorded prolifically for the label, with literally dozens of tracks remaining in the vast Motown vaults until producer Nixon began including tracks on various reissues. SPELLBOUND features two tracks cut in 1963, 23 in 1964 and eight in 1966; producers included Marc Gordon & Hal Davis, Frank Wilson, Johnny Bristol & Harvey Fuqua, Ivy Jo Hunter, Brian Holland & Lamont Dozier, Norman Whitfield, Mickey Stevenson and William Weatherspoon with material written by, among others, Sylvia Moy, Billy Page, Jimmy Webb, Janie Bradford and the Lewis Sisters.
  • Notes by renowned UK Motown historian and writer Sharon Davis include 2017 quotes from Brenda along with an essay by producer Nixon; and stellar remastering by Nick Robbins.


  1. Name
  2. Deep Freeze
  3. There's Something On Your Mind
  4. Today I Sing The Blues
  5. Strange Things
  6. Don't Compare Me With Her
  7. Why Don't You Tell The Truth
  8. Baby It Is You
  9. I Don't Want Anybody Perfect
  10. Just Loving You
  11. Lucky My Boy
  12. The Star
  13. This Time Last Summer
  14. You Go Your Way And I'll Go Mine
  15. Don't Stay Away
  16. I'm The Exception To The Rule
  17. I Still Get Butterflies
  18. Can't You Hear Me Knocking
  19. Can't Hold The Feeling Back
  20. Girl On The Run
  21. Have A Little Talk With Myself
  22. I Feel Your Love Growin' On Me
  23. I'm Giving Up
  24. I'm Spellbound
  25. The Lonely Heart And Lonely Eyes Of Lonely Me
  26. What Good Am I Without You
  27. Its Going All The Way To True True Love
  28. Whenever You Need Me
  29. You Got A Little Of Everything
  30. You Are My Chosen One
  31. My Precious Dreams
  32. Without Love You Lose A Good Feelin'
  33. What Have I Done To Myself
  34. The Land Of Make Believe
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock