THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

For What Its Worth ~ The Complete Epic Recordings: 1964-1968

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
For What Its Worth ~ The Complete Epic Recordings: 1964-1968
For What Its Worth ~ The Complete Epic Recordings: 1964-1968


In 1964, The Staple Singers signed with Epic Records after leaving Jazz/Blues/Folk label Riverside Records. From then until the middle of 1968, they recorded six albums for the label, all of which are featured in this 3CD box..Three of these classic albums, "Pray On", "For What It's Worth" and "What The World Needs Now Is Love", are making their CD debut and this now makes virtually all of their recorded work available on CD..During the years with Epic, The Staple Singers' sound developed into the Soul/Folk sub-genre that came to a commercial peak at Stax Records during the 1970s..This 66-track box set is the first-ever retrospective of their Epic years and features songs by Bob Dylan, Buffalo Springfield, Burt Bacharach and Hal David as well as numerous original compositions by Pop Staples. His original song, 'Why (Am I Treated So Bad)', has become a soul standard..Despite their newly-found commercial success, the group did not leave any of their gospel roots behind. All of the songs that are not gospel standards are imbued with a message of hope and inspiration, fully in keeping with their Christian music roots..Mavis Staples is featured on lead vocals on the majority of tracks but there are also several vocals from Pops Staples and his blues-drenched guitar gets much exposure too. Pervis Staples can be heard on three recitations with Bob Dylan's 'John Brown', which are especially notable..Mavis Staples is the only member of the family still active and regularly touring the world, keeping The Staples Singers legacy alive. Pervis has been long retired and Pops, Yvonne and Cleotha have all passed away..Soul Music.Com are very proud to bring these six keenly sought-after albums back into circulation.


  1. Name
  2. More Than A Hammer And Nail
  3. He's Got The Whole World In His Hands
  4. My Jesus Is All
  5. This Train
  6. Praying Time
  7. Be Careful Of Stones That You Throw
  8. Samson And Delilah
  9. Nobody's Fault But Mine
  10. Mary Don't You Weep
  11. As An Eagle Stirreth Her Nest
  12. Do Something For Yourself
  13. Amen (From 'Clillies Of The Field')
  14. It's Been A Change
  15. Waiting For My Child
  16. How Great Thou Art
  17. Wish I Had Answered
  18. Tramp On The Street
  19. When Was Jesus Born
  20. Pray On
  21. Glory, Glory Hallelujah
  22. The Lord's Prayer
  23. Had No Room
  24. John Brown
  25. Freedom Highway
  26. What You Gonna Do
  27. Take My Hand Precious Lord
  28. When I'm Gone
  29. Help Me Jesus
  30. We Shall Overcome
  31. When The Saints Go Marching In
  32. The Funeral
  33. Build On That Shore
  34. Tell Heaven
  35. He's Allright
  36. Why? Am, I Treated So Bad
  37. King Of Kings
  38. Step Aside
  39. If I Could Hear My Mother Pray Again
  40. What Are They Doing In Heaven Today?
  41. Will The Circle Be Unbroken?
  42. I've Been Scorned
  43. I'm Gonna Tell God (About My Troubles)
  44. My Sweet Home
  45. Move Along Train
  46. For What Its Worth
  47. Father Let Me Ride
  48. Deliver Me
  49. He
  50. If I Had A Hammer
  51. Are You Sure
  52. Wade In The Water
  53. I'm The Light Of The World
  54. Jacob's Ladder
  55. Good News
  56. What The World Needs Now Is Love
  57. Don't Let Nobody Turn You Around
  58. A Place In The Sun
  59. I Wonder Why
  60. Let That Liar Alone
  61. Let's Get Together
  62. Crying In The Chapel - Mavis Staples
  63. Downward Road
  64. A Hard Rain's Gonna Fall
  65. Nothing Lasts Forever - Mavis Staples
  66. People Get Ready
  67. Power Of Love (B-Side)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite