THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Old Friend - The Deluxe Collections 1976-1998 (Clamshell Boxset) (9CD)

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Old Friend - The Deluxe Collections 1976-1998 (Clamshell Boxset) (9CD)
Old Friend - The Deluxe Collections 1976-1998 (Clamshell Boxset) (9CD)


  • SoulMusic Records is exceptionally pleased to present the first-ever box set of the music of the late Phyllis Hyman, who created a wonderful legacy of recordings over close to twenty-years that continues to resonate today with her dedicated global audience and beyond. Creatively traversing the soul/R&B and jazz genres from the mid-‘70s until her passing in the mid-‘90s ,with her instantly recognizable and distinctive vocal style, Phyllis developed a solid cadre of discerning music buyers with albums for Buddah, Arista and Philadelphia International Records, collated here along with a number of bonus tracks and guest appearances for a total of (113) tracks. Appropriately named ‘The Deluxe Collection,” this 9CD box has been lovingly created by founder David Nathan in cooperation with Glenda Gracia, manager & executrix of the Phyllis Hyman estate, who contributes a moving up-close-and-personal essay. Renowned writer Janine Coveney provides a heartfelt tribute with an overview of Phyllis’ music; while SoulMusic Records’ Michael Lewis offers his thoughts on Phyllis’ compelling live performances. In a beautifully-designed box with artwork by Roger Williams along with stellar mastering from Nick Robbins, “Old Friend: The Deluxe Collection” is a fitting celebration of Phyllis Hyman’s contribution through music, to commemorate the anniversary of her 72ND birthday, on 6th
  • Disc 1, PHYLLIS HYMAN (BUDDAH) marked Phyllis’ official album debut and includes the US R&B/dance charted single, ‘Loving You, Losing You’, co-penned by Philly soul maestro Thom Bell who also co-wrote ‘Betcha By Golly Wow’, which Phyllis recorded with jazz drummer Norman Connors in 1976 along with a duet with Michael Henderson (‘We Both Need Each Other’), resulting in her first exposure to a wider audience. Also on this expanded edition, both sides of Phyllis’ 1976 single for Desert Moon Records.
  • Disc 2, SOMEWHERE IN MY LIFETIME marked Phyllis’ addition to the Arista Records’ roster when Buddah Records was acquired by the Clive Davis-helmed label. The title cut was co-produced by Barry Manilow; six tracks were included from Phyllis’ 2nd Buddah LP, “Sing A Song” which only gained release outside the US in 1978; expanded edition features bonus tracks from “Sing A Song” and a guest appearance with saxophonist Pharoah Sanders, ‘As You Are’ as well as 12” single versions of ‘Kiss You All Over’ and ‘So Strange’.
  • Disc 3, YOU KNOW HOW TO LOVE ME teamed Phyllis with James Mtume & Reggie Lucas, hitmakers for Stephanie Mills; the result was Phyllis’ biggest R&B/dance hit with the now-classic title track; expanded


  1. Name
  2. Loving You, Losing You
  3. No One Can Love You More
  4. One Thing On My Mind
  5. I Don't Want To Lose You
  6. Deliver The Love
  7. Was Yesterday Such A Long Time Ago
  8. The Night Bird Gets The Love
  9. Beautiful Man Of Mine
  10. Children Of The World
  11. Baby (I'm Gonna Love You)
  12. Do Me
  13. You're The One
  14. We Both Need Each Other Norman Connors Feat. Phyllis,Hyman And Michael Henderson
  15. Betcha By Golly Wow Norman Connors Feat. Phyllis Hyman
  16. Just Imagine - Norman Connors Feat. Phyllis Hyman
  17. Kiss You All Over
  18. Somewhere In My Lifetime
  19. Lookin' For A Lovin'
  20. The Answer Is You
  21. So Strange
  22. Gonna Make Changes
  23. Living Inside Your Love
  24. Be Careful (How You Treat My Love)
  25. Soon Come Again
  26. Here's That Rainy Day
  27. So Strange (12" Version)
  28. Kiss You All Over (12" Version)
  29. Sweet Music
  30. Love Is Free
  31. Sing A Song
  32. As You Are - Pharoah Sanders Feat. Phyllis Hyman
  33. You Know How To Love Me
  34. Some Way
  35. Under Your Spell
  36. This Feeling Must Be Love
  37. But I Love You
  38. Heavenly
  39. Hold On
  40. Give A Little More
  41. Complete Me
  42. You Know How To Love Me (Single Edit)
  43. Under Your Spell (Single Edit)
  44. Magic Mona
  45. I'll Be Around - Mccoy Tyner (Featuring Phyllis Hyman)
  46. Love Surrounds Us Everywhere - Mccoy Tyner (Featuring Phyllis Hyman)
  47. In Search Of My Heart
  48. In A Sentimental Mood - Mccoy Tyner (Featuring Phyllis Hyman)
  49. You Sure Look Good To Me
  50. Don't Tell Me, Tell Her
  51. I Ain't Asking
  52. Can't We Fall In Love Again - Phyllis Hyman & Michael Henderson
  53. The Love Too Good To Last
  54. Tonight You And Me
  55. The Sunshine In My Life
  56. Just Another Face In The Crowd
  57. Can't We Fall In Love Again (Single Version) - Phyllis Hyman & Michael Henderson
  58. You Sure Look Good To Me (Single Version)
  59. Tonight You And Me(Disco Version)
  60. Sleep On It
  61. If You Ever Change Your Mind
  62. In Between The Heartaches
  63. Riding The Tiger
  64. Goddess Of Love
  65. Why Did You Turn Me On
  66. Your Move, My Heart
  67. Let Somebody Love You
  68. Falling Star
  69. We Should Be Lovers
  70. Just Me And You
  71. Just Twenty Five Miles To Anywhere
  72. I'm Not Asking You To Stay
  73. Riding The Tiger(Dance Version)
  74. Riding The Tiger (Single Edit)
  75. Living All Alone
  76. First Time Together
  77. If You Want Me
  78. Slow Dancin'
  79. Old Friend
  80. You Just Don't Know
  81. Ain't You Had Enough Love
  82. Screamin' At The Moon
  83. What You Won't Do For Love
  84. Black And Blue - Barry Manilow & Phyllis Hyman, Featuring Tom Scott
  85. Sacred Kind Of Love Grover Washington, Jr. Featuring Phyllis Hyman
  86. When You Get Right Down To It
  87. I Found Love
  88. Don't Wanna Change The World
  89. Prime Of My Life
  90. When I Give My Love (This Time)
  91. I Can't Take It Anymore
  92. Walk Away
  93. Living In Confusion
  94. Meet Me On The Moon
  95. What Ever Happened To Our Love
  96. (The) Hottest Love Around
  97. Don't Wanna Change The World (No Rap Version)
  98. I Refuse To Be Lonely
  99. Waiting For The Last Tear To Fall
  100. This Too Shall Pass
  101. I'm Truly Yours
  102. I'm Calling You
  103. Back To Paradise
  104. It's Not About You (It's About Me)
  105. It Takes Two
  106. Why Not Me
  107. Give Me One Good Reason To Stay
  108. Forever With You
  109. Funny How Love Goes
  110. Come Right Or Not At All
  111. The Strength Of A Woman
  112. Hurry Up This Way Again
  113. How Long
  114. Someone To Love
  115. Tell Me What You're Gonna Do
  116. The Kids
  117. Set A Little Trap
  118. No One But You
  119. Souvenirs
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock