THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Soul Queen Of New Orleans

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)
Catalog Number:
Soul Queen Of New Orleans
Soul Queen Of New Orleans


For the past 50 years Irma Thomas has been the undisputed Soul Queen Of New Orleans, recording for labels such as Chess, Imperial and Island, scoring pop and R&B hits and releasing Grammy nominated albums. Bandleader Tommy Ridgley originally discovered her and helped her win a contract with the Ron label, from which she moved to the Bandy and Minit label, where she teamed up with the legendary producer Allen Toussaint. Disc 1 of this 2CD set features the all the singles she recorded for Minit, Ron and Bandy along with b-sides and demos. The demos have been specially enhanced for this release to remove the audible tape noises which blighted previous issues. The second disc features a 1976 live performance recorded at The New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival, originally released that year on Island Records. For the show Thomas was reunited with Tommy Ridgley and blasted through many of the New Orleans classics featuered on disc 1 along with her covers of contemporary disco hits ' Lady Marmalade' and 'Shame, Shame, Shame'. 'Soul Queen Of New Orleans' is packaged in a deluxe rigid double digi-book.


  1. Name
  2. Dont Mess With My Man
  3. Set Me Free
  4. A Good Man
  5. I May Be Wrong
  6. Cry On
  7. Girl Needs Boy
  8. Its Too Soon To Know
  9. Thats All I Ask
  10. I Done Got Over
  11. Gone
  12. Its Raining
  13. I Did My Part
  14. Two Winters Long
  15. Somebody Told You
  16. Ruler Of My Heart
  17. (You Aint) Hittin On Nothing
  18. For Goodness Sake
  19. Look Up (aka Whenever)
  20. Your Love Is True (Demo)
  21. Its Too Soon To Know (Demo
  22. You Can Have My Husband
  23. Cry On
  24. I Wont Cry
  25. Ruler Of My Heart
  26. I Done Got Over
  27. Its Raining
  28. Shame, Shame,Shame
  29. Hip Shakin Mama
  30. Lady Marmalade
  31. Wish Someone Would Care
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide