THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Blues At The Grand

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Blues At The Grand
Blues At The Grand


Son of Dave invites y'all to a rhythm 'n' blues party at The Grand Hotel. On his new record Blues At The Grand, his a-list friends have already joined the party. Producer Jimmy Hogarth is mixing cocktails, drummer Joey Waronker is in the ballroom and comedian Jessica Hynes is flirting with the bellboy. For the first time with Son of Dave, it's a full-band record and, as the bluesman is happy to admit, it is his most joyous to date. Blues At The Grand is released on 4th November. Son of Dave says that people often ask him, "What kind of bluesman comes from Winnipeg in Canada, but has lived in London for more than 15 years? What kind of bluesman doesn't abandon his illegitimate children to go adventuring?" You might also ask, "What kind of bluesman has a YouTube channel, on which he posts covers of improbable songs like 'Bonkers' by Dizzee Rascal and anarchically reviews the latest singles by Beyoncé, Stooshe and Kendrick Lamar?" Son of Dave - aka Benjamin Darvill - will decide what this bluesman will do and for his fifth album, 'Blues At The Grand', he enlisted the help of super producer Jimmy Hogarth - a rhythm and blues fan with writing and production credits on countless monster-smashes by the likes of Amy Winehouse, James Morrison and Corrine Bailey Rae. Son of Dave has also gone deep into Karmic debt with his musician friends, who have stepped up and played incredible parts on this record. Henry Olsen (Screamadelica) on bass. On lady vocals, Martina Topley Bird, Josephine Oniyama, Jessica Hynes, Naomi Yhap. On keys, Will Foster (Fratellis), horns by Martin Slatterly and Greg Heath. Son of Dave plays everything else including piano, bass, guitar, beats de la bouche and harmonica of course. Son of Dave plays Bestival and Festival Number 6, appearing on the BBC 6Music stage, before setting off on a full UK tour this November.


  1. Name
  2. Well, Well, Well
  3. Hot Summer Nights
  4. We Going Out
  5. Titty Shake
  6. They Let Too Many people In
  7. Old Mexico
  8. Miss Katalin
  9. Bow Wow
  10. Lay Your Hands
  11. Poor Me
  12. If Only
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide