THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Rhythm Collision Volume 2

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Rhythm Collision Volume 2
Rhythm Collision Volume 2


Follow up to Ruts 1982 classic punk dub reggae "Rhythm Collision Vol 1". Features Mad Professor, Prince Fatty, Tenor Fly and members of Misty in Roots and Alabama 3. Original work on the album began back in 2011 when by chance Segs was asked to do remixes of "Militant" and "Accusation" which had appeared on the original 1982 release. Contact was made with Neil Fraser aka The Mad Professor who had been such a big part of the original release and sessions began organically on some new recordings. They had the basics of 14 tracks from those original sessions but it wasn't until sometime later when Molara, Larry Love {Alabama 3} Tenor Fly, NGoni akaDelbert McKay {Misty In Roots} and Leigh Heggarty got together at Jamm studios in Brixton that the final pieces began to fit together. Although the original idea had then been to mix the tracks with Mad Professor things didn't work out; again hectic schedules got in the way. They were introduced to Brighton producer Prince Fatty aka Mark Pelanconi. Happy with the setup, the band pushed on. After one final mix from Fatty, some edits and two bonus mixes from Greg Wizard back at Brixton the project, simply called 'Rhythm Collision Vol.2', was finally finished. From (unplanned) conception to completion it's fair to say that the record has emerged out of numerous collaborations with many talented people, always with the formidable rhythm section of Dave Ruffy and Segs at its' heart; both are justifiably proud of the finished product. "Extra fresh yet expertly executed..a nigh irresistable album" Mojo 4**** "The return of Ruts DC is undoubtably the most welcome comeback of the year" Vive La Rock 9/10 "Wholly compelling comeback" Record Collector 4**** "Segs and Ruffy have made one of the best albums of the year" Louder Than War 9/10


  1. Name
  2. Mighty Soldier ft. Tenor Fly
  3. Mix Up ft. Molara
  4. One Step ft. Segs
  5. Smiling Culture ft. Aynzli Jones/RobLove
  6. Technology Prof. Intro Mix ft. Aynzli Jones and Mad Professor
  7. Sun and Stars ft. Segs
  8. London Dub ft. Smokes
  9. More Bass
  10. Heavyweight Style ft. Seamus Beaghen
  11. The Road ft. Jessica McIntyre
  12. Technology Super Dub
  13. Soldier Dub
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide