THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets


Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:


A much recorded artist, this is saxophonist Simon Haram's first solo disc since 2011's 'Frame' (Black Box). 'Mono'dia' is a collection of solos and duos, monologues and dialogues with pianists Graham Fitkin and John Alley, harpist Ruth Wall and bassist Martin Elliott.

The programme is made up of compositions by some of Haram's personal friends and associates, and others from recent discoveries, these include Graham Fitkin, John Adams and Tõnu Kõrvits. The music is varied in mood and tempo and occupies that almost indefinable space between classical and jazz. Several of the composition were written specifically for Haram and there is a sense of story and place throughout the album with each composition juxtaposed to its neighbour like chapters in a book.

Simon is much sought after as a recitalist and ensemble player, appearing with the Graham Fitkin Band, Nash Ensemble, Composers' Ensemble and all the London Orchestras. He was appointed Principal Saxophone of the London Sinfonietta in 1997. He is also a member of Will Gregory's Moog Ensemble as EWI and keyboard player.

As a soloist, Simon has appeared with the London Sinfonietta, Philharmonia Orchestra, London Philharmonic Orchestra, English Chamber Orchestra, London Chamber Orchestra, BBC Concert Orchestra, BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, Orchestra Of St John's, Soloists of the Royal Opera House, East Of England Orchestra, Johannesburg Symphony Orchestra and Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra.

Personnel: Simon Haram (soprano, alto and tenor saxophones), Graham Fitkin (piano, synthesisers), John Alley (piano), Ruth Wall (harp), Martin Elliott (bass guitar)


  1. Name
  2. Gate
  3. Waltzing MacMillan
  4. Quick March
  5. Allemande
  6. Last Dance
  7. Postmark
  8. She Cries She Dances
  9. Spill
  10. Singing across the Sea
  11. She Sings and Comforts Them
  12. She Sings and Seduces Them
  13. Fragment
  14. Passing
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock