THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

The Tyburn Tree - Dark London

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Gate Fold Vinyl
Catalog Number:
The Tyburn Tree - Dark London
The Tyburn Tree - Dark London


Limited edition 180g vinyl set that comes packaged in a gatefold sleeve.

Two legends from different worlds collide in what promises to be a seminal album of songs about London. Composer/saxophonist John Harle and singer Marc Almond collaborate on 'The Tyburn Tree - Dark London' - an album of contemporary songs about the darkest sides of London's history - from the Tyburn gallows to Jack the Ripper, and from settings of the words of William Blake to a unique take on the nursery rhyme 'London Bridge is Falling Down'.

Following Marc's much lauded guest appearance on Harle's 'Art Music', this is an album full of driving rhythms, emotional impact and theatrical story telling of the highest order.

Along for the ride are noted soprano Sarah Leonard and great London poet and author Iain Sinclair who reads from his own texts. But it is the voice of Marc Almond that is the spiritual medium from which appears the ghosts of 'Dark London'.

"Marc is a true artist and true performer - showing total openness and vulnerability alongside an experimental, non-judgmental view of Art, and in 'The Tyburn Tree', London has found its Anti-Hero". - John Harle

"We all know that Marc Almond can sing but it still comes as a shock to hear his thrillingly drawn-out climax to Harle's "The Arrival of Spring", emoting words adapted from William Blake with operatic oomph." - The Independent

'The Tyburn Tree' has been in gestation for two years - Almond is the primary lyricist, having researched the subject matter and gradually formed his own take on 'Dark London', creating lyrics that have both historical relevance and an ear-catching quirkiness. Alongside this John Harle has been writing music that proves him to be at the height of his powers - after a canon of work that includes his "O Mistress Mine" for Elvis Costello, and as composer of the theme to BBC1's Silent Witness, he has matched Almond's lyrics with some punchy, compact and bitter-sweet songs full of emotion, percussive shock and humour. 'The Tyburn Tree' promises to be a concept album of cult-status.

Personnel: Marc Almond (voice), John Harle (voice, keyboards, saxophones), Sarah Leonard (voice), Neill MacColl, John Paricelli (guitars) Steve Lodder (keyboards), Dudley Phillips (bass), Martyn Barker (drums), Iain Sinclair (voice), Daniel Eisner Harle (sound design)


  1. Name
  2. The Tyburn Tree
  3. Fortress
  4. Spring-Heeled Jack
  5. My Fair Lady
  6. Ratcliffe Highway
  7. The Labyrinth of Limehouse
  8. To The Crow The Spoils
  9. Dark Angel
  10. The Vampire of Highgate
  11. Black Widow
  12. Poor Henry
  13. Jerusalem
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock