THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

They Called It Rhythm & Blues

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
They Called It Rhythm & Blues
They Called It Rhythm & Blues


Anyone who knows Duke's music, will immediately smile at the first few seconds of the opening track "Here I'm Is" from the new album 'They Called It Rhythm & Blues', available from Stony Plain Records.

It's that joyous jump-blues shuffle sound that Duke has been perfecting since the late 60s. Indeed, every song on this generous 18-song album is about the groove, master musicianship, great understated taste and a perfect band mix that always complements the pulse and the singer. Duke's guitar is at the centre and brings it all together.

For a lifetime Duke Robillard has been playing the jazzy corners of the blues. He was a founder of Roomful of Blues in the early 1970s, and replaced Jimmy Vaughan in the Fabulous Thunderbirds in the 1990s and was a core member of the New Guitar Summit through the 2000s, in addition to releasing an astounding 37 albums on his own. He has won the W.C. Handy Award as Best Blues Guitarist an astounding four times, and been nominated for two Best Blues Album Grammy Awards. He is credited with taking the blues to a new level for multiple generations of blues guitarists.


  1. Name
  2. Here I'm Is
  3. No Good Lover
  4. Fools Are Getting Scarcer
  5. Tell Me Why
  6. Rambler Blues
  7. The Way You Do
  8. Champagne Mind
  9. Homeless Blues
  10. Outta Here
  11. In The Wee Wee Hours
  12. Someday After A While
  13. She's My Baby
  14. Trouble In Mind
  15. No Place To Go
  16. The Things I Forgot To Do
  17. I Can't Understand It
  18. Eat Where You Slept Last Night
  19. Swingin' For Four Bills

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock