THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Head And Heart

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Head And Heart
Head And Heart


Two strands of work make up Luka Bloom's album Head and Heart. One recalls the early days of Joni Mitchell's interest in jazz: the folk musician seeking out fresh perspectives. The other consists of celebrated songs that fans will be delighted to hear Luka's take on. Luka says: "The making of Head and Heart was as good a time as I've ever had in a studio. Some of the songs were recorded at home; some in Brian Masterson's home. But six of them were recorded in Wicklow with The Phil Ware trio, featuring Phil Ware on piano, Dave Redmond on double Bass and Kevin Brady on drums". "This was new territory for me," admits Luka. "I wanted to create a landscape for the songs which would enhance them but also somehow expose them in a very naked way. So came about the mad idea to just meet with the lads for the first time in the studio and instantly record with no rehearsal. Just feel the songs; play them, serve them, record them and release them." Luka says that recording live and unrehearsed with unfamiliar musicians was a "terrifying" but a "fantastic" experience, "utterly rewarding".


  1. Name
  2. Head And Heart
  3. Banks Of The Lee
  4. Every Grain Of Sand
  5. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face
  6. Give You Wings
  7. Gentle On My Mind
  8. My Wild Irish Rose
  9. Lonesome Robin
  10. And I Love You So
  11. Liffeyside
  12. Danny Boy
  13. The Joy Of Living
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock