THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Too Cool: The Life and Music of Chet Baker

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Too Cool: The Life and Music of Chet Baker
Too Cool: The Life and Music of Chet Baker


May 13th 2013 was the 25th anniversary of jazz icon Chet Baker's untimely death in Amsterdam and is the release date of singer/trumpeter/composer Sue Richardson's tribute CD 'Too Cool', on Splash Point Records.

The album features four rare Baker titles, unearthed by Sue Richardson and arranged by her with the original Italian lyrics translated by Georgia Mancio.'Too Cool' features the baritone sax of Karen Sharp on three tracks, mirroring the Gerry Mulligan/Chet Baker partnership. In addition, there are five Richardson originals cleverly written in Chet's style including: Adored, inspired by Chet's turbulent life away from music; and On a Moonbeam.

Sue Richardson's trumpet, flugel and voice underpin the whole project, expertly recreating that lyrical Chet Baker sound.

'Too Cool the show' is currently touring the UK. A post-modern take on the Chet story, it includes Chet's most famous standards as well as his own compositions and the originals featured on the album. Weaving through the music are anecdotes about Chet, from a woman's point of view. Sue Richardson doesn't pull her punches. Baker's life was turbulent, and Sue's commentary provides an over-view of this most complex character, including his faults and inexcusable behaviour.

The narrative has been developed in association with actress and theatre director Sylvia Syms, and the help of Chet's official biographer James Gavin.

Sue's 'Too Cool' musicians are Neal Richardson (piano), George Trebar (bass) and Rod Youngs (drums); with guests Karen Sharp (baritone sax) and Andy Drudy (guitar).

"A fabulous trumpet player... I kid you not, you closed your eyes, you were listening to Chet Baker. A remarkable young woman." - Richard Wheatly, Chairman of Jazz FM

This polished tribute marks the 25th anniversary of Chet Baker's death. Like Dorian Gray in reverse, the angel-faced Chet aged hideously while his music remained pristine until the end. Sue Richardson's trumpet playing catches his combination of delicacy and strength, and her singing has something of his candid simplicity. She even writes the kind of tunes that he might have invented. Also included are some pieces he wrote while serving time in jail. Outstanding in the excellent small band is Karen Sharp, whose baritone saxophone recalls Chet's classic partnership with Gerry Mulligan. ****The Observer


  1. Name
  2. Too Cool
  3. Adored
  4. All Through The Night
  5. My Funny Valentine
  6. Anticipated Blues
  7. So Che Ti Perderò
  8. Motivo Su Raggio Di Luna
  9. Chettys Lullaby
  10. Almost In Ecstasy
  11. On A Moon Beam
  12. Il Mio Domani
  13. So Che Ti Perderò (Vocal Version)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock