THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Sing Out, Sweet Land! / Down In The Valley

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:
Sing Out, Sweet Land! / Down In The Valley
Sing Out, Sweet Land! / Down In The Valley


The 'Sing Out, Sweet Land!' Original Cast Recording featuring Alfred Drake and Burl Ives makes its debut on CD. The album is complemented by the 1950 Decca Records studio recording of the Kurt Weill and Arnold Sundgaard one-act folk opera 'Down In The Valley', featuring Alfred Drake and Jane Wilson.

'Sing Out, Sweet Land!' opened at Broadway's International Theatre on December 27th 1944 and ran for 104 performances. Presented by the Theatre Guild as "A Salute to American Folk and Popular Music", the production starred Alfred Drake, Burl Ives, Juanita Hall, Bibi Osterwald, and Alma Kaye. Praised by critics as a "captivating cavalcade of American folk music", 'Sing Out, Sweet Land!' had a book by Walter Kerr with its songs deriving from traditional American folk music alongside original material by John Mundy, Edward Eager and Elie Siegmeister. The songs featured in 'Sing Out, Sweet Land!' were preserved on disc by Decca Records and the original cast recording was issued over a series of 78rpm records and later as a 10" LP album.

The score of 'Down In The Valley' features established American folk songs to carry its narrative (including 'Down In The Valley', 'The Lonesome Dove' and 'Hop Up My Ladies') alongside original chorale music composed by Kurt Weill who supervised the studio recording.

The release of 'Sing Out, Sweet Land!' and 'Down In The Valley' forms part of Stage Door's 'Collector's Series', a line of limited edition CD products presented in the retro style of a miniature long-playing record. All Collector's Series titles are limited to 500 units.


  1. Name
  2. As I Was Going Along
  3. Where
  4. Big Rock Candy Mountain
  5. Blue Tail Fly
  6. I'm Goin' Down The Road
  7. Little Mohee
  8. Wandering
  9. I Have Been A Good Boy
  10. Frankie And Johnny
  11. The Roving Gambler
  12. Hammer Ring / Watermelon Cry / Didn't My Lord Daniel Deliver
  13. Trouble, Trouble / Basement Blues
  14. Casey Jones
  15. More Than These (Sing Out, Sweet Land)
  16. Down In The Valley - Part One
  17. Down In The Valley - Part Two
  18. Where (Bonus Track - Radio Performance)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock