THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Worzel Gummidge - The Musical (Original London 1981 Cast Album)

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Worzel Gummidge - The Musical (Original London 1981 Cast Album)
Worzel Gummidge - The Musical (Original London 1981 Cast Album)


Following the successful television series based on Barbara Euphan Todd's children's classic, writers Keith Waterhouse, Willis Hall and composer Denis King created a new stage musical adaptation of the story of 'Worzel Gummidge'. The Original London Cast Recording makes its debut on CD here.

The naughty, petulant, greedy, yet always lovable scarecrow was re-imagined for the stage with all the familiar characters: Aunt Sally, The Crowman, Sergeant Beetroot and Sue and John. Brought to life by the Crowman, Worzel creates havoc and farce wherever he goes in his frenzied efforts to win Aunt Sally's unwilling hand.

Featuring the principal cast members from the TV series (Jon Pertwee, Una Stubbs and Geoffrey Bayldon), the 'Worzel Gummidge' musical was first staged at the Birmingham Repertory Theatre over the 1980 Christmas period, receiving sensational reviews from the press. The production transferred to London's Cambridge Theatre for the following Christmas season, opening on December 22nd, 1981 and by popular demand extended its run through till February 27th, 1982. An original cast album produced by Norman Newell was recorded at Abbey Road Studios in the weeks preceding the London opening.

The album also includes the 'The Worzel Gummidge Christmas Maxi Single', featuring songs from the 1980 Christmas TV spectacular 'A Slice O' Cake An' A Cup O' Tea'.

"Keith Waterhouse and Willis Hall, backed by some smart, snappy tunes from Denis King, have succeeded in accomplishing something that looked impossible. They have built a family musical of comic charm, vivacity and a sort of battered elegance from the adventures of a scarecrow." - Daily Express


  1. Name
  2. Overture
  3. Scarecrow Hymn
  4. In The Country
  5. One 'Ead An' An 'Ead
  6. Aunt Sally's Song
  7. Why Should She Choose A Scarecrow?
  8. Chase Him!
  9. A Slice O' Cake 'An A Cup O' Tea
  10. It'll Suit Us
  11. Scarecrow Day
  12. Make Yourself A Friend
  13. We'll Be There
  14. He Is Guilty!
  15. It's Me Birthday
  16. A Slice O' Cake 'An A Cup O' Tea (Reprise)
  17. Christmas Isn't Christmas
  18. Aunt Sally's Song
  19. Scarecrow's Carol
  20. A Slice O' Cake 'An A Cup O' Tea
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite