THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Two Cities (Original London Cast)

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Two Cities (Original London Cast)
Two Cities (Original London Cast)


Stage Door debuts the 'Two Cities' Original London Cast album on CD, coupled with the previously unreleased original studio demos of the score featuring several songs that would be later cut from the production. Charles Dickens' classic novel 'A Tale Of Two Cities' was developed as a musical in the mid sixties by theatre producer Jerry Wayne who commissioned his son Jeff to compose the score for the project. With a book by Constance Cox, music by Jeff Wayne and lyrics by Jerry Wayne; 'Two Cities' opened at London's Palace Theatre on February 27th 1969. The musical starred Edward Woodward (as Sydney Carton), Kevin Colson (as Charles Darnay), Elizabeth Power (as Lucie), Leone Greene (as Monsieur Defarge), Nicolette Roeg (as Madame Defarge). +Although reviews were mixed, 'Two Cities' earned a nomination for 'Best Musical' at the 1969 Variety Club and Evening Standard Theatre Awards and the show's star Edward Woodward won the 1969 Variety Club and Evening Standard Award for 'Best Male Performance in a Musical'.


  1. Name
  2. The Best Of Times
  3. Tender Love And Patience
  4. Independent Man / What Would You Do
  5. Look Alike
  6. And Lucie Is Her Name / Golden Haired Doll
  7. Suddenly
  8. The Time Is Now
  9. The Machine Of Doctor Guillotine
  10. Two Different People
  11. Only A Fool
  12. Will We Ever Meet Again
  13. Knitting Song
  14. Quartet - Two Different People / Will We Ever Meet Again / Only A Fool / Knitting Song
  15. Long Ago
  16. It's A Far, Far Better Thing
  17. The Wine That Flows In The Street (Bonus Track - Original Demo Recording)
  18. Tender Love And Patience (Bonus Track - Original Demo Recording)
  19. What Would You Do Without Me (Bonus Track - Original Demo Recording)
  20. Look Alike (Bonus Track - Original Demo Recording)
  21. Someone To Love (Bonus Track - Original Demo Recording)
  22. For Justice We March (Bonus Track - Original Demo Recording)
  23. Let Them Eat Cake (Bonus Track - Original Demo Recording)
  24. The Proposal Song (Bonus Track - Original Demo Recording)
  25. I Would Give My Life (Bonus Track - Original Demo Recording)
  26. The Machine Of Doctor Guillotine (Bonus Track - Original Demo Recording)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock