THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Drake's Dream

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Drake's Dream
Drake's Dream


'Drake's Dream' is a musical biography of the 16th century Sea Captain and Navigator Sir Francis Drake featuring music and lyrics by Lynne and Richard Riley and book by Simon Brett. The London Cast Recording starring Paul Jones as Sir Francis Drake, now makes its debut on CD, digitally remastered from the master tapes.

The story encompasses Drake's historic circum navigation of the world culminating in his return to England in 1580. The production premiered at Worthing's Connaught Theatre on October 26th 1977 directed by Nicolas Young before transferring to London's Shaftesbury Theatre for a limited season opening on December 7th 1977, starring Paul Jones as Sir Francis Drake alongside David Burt as Thomas Doughty, Earl Jordan as The King Of Ternate, Caro Gurney as Queen Elizabeth I and Janet Shaw as Mary Drake. Reviews were mixed with many critics questioning whether it was a rock musical or a pantomime. Noted playwright and director Ken Hill was recruited to revise the production for a subsequent transfer to the Westminster Theatre in February 1978.

Prior to the show opening at the Shaftesbury Theatre in 1978, the 'Drake's Dream' Original London Cast Album was recorded by President Records.


  1. Name
  2. At The Court Of Queen Elizabeth
  3. I've Always Had A Dream
  4. Let's Get Going
  5. Take A Little Time
  6. When The Winds Command Us Away
  7. She Plays A Dangerous Game
  8. Between Today And Tomorrow
  9. Sedition
  10. Waiting Isn't Easy
  11. Gold
  12. Nova Albion
  13. God Of The Waters
  14. Spice Of Life
  15. Oh Lord Protect Us
  16. Fa La La
  17. Sailing Around
  18. Finale
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock