THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Mame (1969 London Studio Cast Recording)

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Mame (1969 London Studio Cast Recording)
Mame (1969 London Studio Cast Recording)


Jerry Herman's musical 'Mame', based on the 1955 Patrick Dennis novel 'Auntie Mame', is quite rightly considered one of the most iconic pieces of musical theatre produced in the 1960s. Featuring a plethora of hit songs including 'It's Today', 'Open a New Window', 'If He Walked into My Life', 'We Need a Little Christmas', 'Bosom Buddies' and the title song, the 'Mame' score affirms Herman's place within the pantheon of great theatre composers.

Ahead of the show's West End opening, a studio cast album of 'Mame' was recorded at London's Abbey Road Studios. Produced by Norman Newell and recorded on January 5th 1969, the London Studio Cast Album starred popular actress Beryl Reid as Mame Dennis alongside Joan Turner as Vera Charles.

Stage Door now present the CD debut of the 'Mame' London Studio Cast Album, digitally remastered from stereo tape. Included as "Bonus Tracks" are Joan Turner's rare 1954 sides of 'The Homecoming Waltz' and 'The Shadow Waltz' (from the BBC TV serial 'The Teckman Biography') recorded for the Philips label with Wally Stott and his Orchestra. The 'Mame' 1969 London Studio Cast Album is a limited edition release of 500 units only.


  1. Name
  2. Overture
  3. It's Today
  4. Open a New Window
  5. The Man in the Moon
  6. My Best Girl
  7. We Need a Little Christmas
  8. Mame
  9. Bosom Buddies
  10. Gooch's Song
  11. That's How Young I Feel
  12. If He Walked Into My Life
  13. Finale
  14. The Homecoming Waltz (Bonus Track)
  15. The Shadow Waltz (Bonus Track)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock