THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

In the Spirit of Duke

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
In the Spirit of Duke
In the Spirit of Duke


Scotland's award-winning, internationally acclaimed jazz orchestra delivers an authentic Ellington experience under the leadership of saxophonist-director Tommy Smith with special guest, pianist Brian Kellock.

Recorded on tour in Scotland in October 2012, 'In the Spirit of Duke' captures the Scottish National Jazz Orchestra in one of its best-ever performances. Following every last Ellington detail, including the stage set-up, using specially sourced period mutes and playing scores that in some cases were specially transcribed from Ellington performances, SNJO director Tommy Smith set out to give audiences as close to the real-deal Ellington experience as possible. And he succeeded.

Audience responses were ecstatic and reviews enthused about the triumph in presenting the music, which spanned almost Ellington's entire career, as both true to the spirit of the original and as if it was freshly minted. The repertoire includes such Ellington hits as "Black and Tan Fantasy", "Concerto for Cootie", "Harlem Airshaft" and a ravishing tenor-piano duet of "The Single Petal of a Rose" and as well as movements from The Queen's Suite, it features extracts from Ellington and Billy Strayhorn's, at the time, controversial re-interpretation of Edvard Grieg's Peer Gynt Suite.

With outstanding individual performances from soloists including pianist Brian Kellock and a world-class ensemble sound, this is Ellington and the SNJO rockin' in rhythm, harmony and peerless swingtime.

Personnel: Tommy Smith (tenor saxophone, director), Brian Kellock (piano), Ruaraidh Pattison (lead alto & soprano saxophone, clarinet), Martin Kershaw (lead clarinet, alto saxophone), Konrad Wiszniewski (alto & tenor saxophone, clarinet), Bill Fleming (alto & baritone saxophone, clarinet & bass clarinet), Ryan Quigley, Cameron Jay, Tom MacNiven, James Marr (trumpet), Chris Greive, Phil O'Malley, trombone), Michael Owers (bass trombone), Calum Gourlay (acoustic bass), Alyn Cosker (drums)


  1. Name
  2. Black and Tan Fantasy / Creole Love Call
  3. In the Hall of the Mountain King
  4. Jack the Bear
  5. Le Sucrier Velours
  6. Daybreak Express
  7. Concerto for Cootie
  8. Harlem Air Shaft
  9. Prelude to a Kiss
  10. Sepia Panorama
  11. Ko-Ko
  12. Morning Mood
  13. Anitra's Dance
  14. The Single Petal of a Rose
  15. Kinda Dukish & Rockin' in Rhythm
  16. Sunset and the Mockingbird
  17. Diminuendo and Crescendo in Blue
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite