THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets


Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:


The UK release of 'Venice' follows hot on the heels of 'Compton', the brand new album by Dr. Dre on which .Paak features heavily (6 of its 16 tracks). Born into a black/Korean family in Southern California in 1986, .Paak began earning acceptance in the Los Angeles music scene in 2012 and released 'O.B.E. Vol 1' under the pseudonym Breezy Lovejoy before reverting to his real name. Credited for his efforts on the title track and starring role on popular Internet show, 'Run DMZ', which began airing in 2013, .Paak's first release was 'Cover Art', an all-covers EP. Inspired by the white artists of the 1950's who achieved commercial success by remaking songs written by black Blues and R&B singers while hardly ever compensating the original artists, 'Cover Art' reversed the process and transformed folk and rock classics by white musicians into a meld of soul, jazz, hip hop, electronic funk and R&B. While some of his older material is perhaps reminiscent of break-looped, J DIlla-indebted beat work, .Paak's debut album 'Venice' sees him utilising harder and faster sounds such as the marching hi-hats and microwaved vocals that dominate nightclub sets along both US coasts. .Paak also has prominent features and production work with artists including Watsky, Dumbfoundead, Shafiq Husayn, Tiron & Ayomari and Wax, plus collaborations with The Free Nationals and Nxworries (alongside Beat Construction alum Knxwledge). Bringing things right up to date, Fader magazine have commented that .Paak "is the kind of young artist that would snag Dr. Dre's attention: non-traditional and unpredictable, but fluent in the classic sounds that reared him."


  1. Name
  2. Waves
  3. Milk And Honey
  4. The City
  5. Might Be
  6. Miss Right
  7. Put You On
  8. Already Ft. Sir
  9. Dogtown
  10. Miss That Whip
  11. Get Em Up
  12. Paint
  13. Drugs
  14. Mike Doralude
  15. Luh You
  16. Right There
  17. Off The Ground
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide