THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Overture On Hebrew Themes, Quintet, Visions Fugitives Etc

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Overture On Hebrew Themes, Quintet, Visions Fugitives Etc
Overture On Hebrew Themes, Quintet, Visions Fugitives Etc


The clarinetist Dirk Altmann came to the Tacet label and asked if they would like to record Sergei Prokofiev's Quintet. The answer was yes as the reputation of the Ludwig Chamber Players preceded them, but what to record with it? The Quintet only lasts a quarter of an hour. What other chamber music is there by Prokofiev? So they went on the search...... What came out of it is this kaleidoscope of Prokofiev's chamber music output, together with a beautiful new instrumentation of the "Visions Fugitives" for 10 instruments under the pseudonym of M. Ucki. Few composers have been so capricious, stylistically as well as compositionally. Uninhibited boldness, such as the same melody line played simultaneously on different instruments, only with different phrasing, alternating with apparently conventional elements. Pieces of breathtaking virtuosity and boldness on the one side contrasting with enraptured, tender and melancholic moods on the other from a man who was probably always caught between two stools and wasn't entirely at home anywhere. A cosmopolitan ahead of his time.


  1. Name
  2. Overture On Hebrew Themes, Op. 34, For Clarinet And Piano Quintet
  3. Uintet G Minor Op. 39 (1924)Tema Con Variazioni
  4. Andante Energico
  5. Allegro Sostenuto, Ma Con Brio
  6. Adagio Pesante
  7. Allegro Precipitato, Ma Non Troppo Presto
  8. Andantino
  9. Sonata In C Sharp Minor Op. 134 For Cello Solo (1952, Unfinished), Completed And Published By Vladimir Blok
  10. Visions Fugitives Op. 22 (1915-1917), Arranged For Chamber Ensemble By M. Ucki - Lentamente
  11. Sonata In D Major Opl 115 For Violin Solo (1947) Moderato
  12. Andante Dolce. Tema Con Variazioni
  13. Con Brio. Allegro Precipitato
  14. Humoresque Scherzo Op. 12b For 4 Bassoons
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite