THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Nature's Pace

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Nature's Pace
Nature's Pace


Bob Hillary and The Massive Mellow Release Natures Pace on TCF Label: TCF Ltd Distributor: Proper Distribution (World Excluding the USA/Canada) Format: CD & Digital Single 1. You Keep Warm (Out 4h September 2011) ""uplifting trumpets, mellow organs, rounded synthesisers, intricate guitar picking...elements of Paul Simon, Pink Floyd, The Cat Empire, David Gray..." - The Skinny Magazine We've played this CD constantly since it arrived - a chilled out blend of acoustic songs, mellow melodies, & uplifting ambient electronics. nice." - Music-News Scotland Bob Hillary is no fool he is calmly taking the world on, together with his band of willing minstrels the Massive Mellow. Perhaps that is all you need to know but since this is a press release well let you in on some pertinent background facts. Bob was in his first band with Coldplays Chris Martin, was managed by legendary Simple Minds manager Bruce Findlay (as front man for the critically acclaimed soulful electro dub pioneers The Ruffness) and is related to the explorer Sir Edmund Hillary. Perhaps that in someway accounts for his globe trotting eclectic musical tendencies and his fiercely independent approach. Initially Natures Pace was released without the support of management or a record label. Through his own efforts Bob garnered radio support from the likes of Steve Lamacq and Vic Galloway and now the album is set for global release with a US licensee at the table. Natures Pace is a seriously accomplished debut album and was produced by Robin Wynn-Evans, who is better known for his work with Dodgy, Manic Street Preachers and Senser. It was recorded in Robins remote Scottish Highland studio after he heard Bobs songs and wanted to produce him. The album was recorded in the middle of Robyns divorce from singer Sam Brown who made a poignant guest appearance on the album. As she was leaving, having collected her belongings from the marital home she put her head around the studio door and listened to the track You Keep Me Warm (this will be the first single in this album campaign). She noted that it was sounding great and offered to sing on it there and then. Bob was obviously delighted to have her on the album but the moment was bitter sweet as the song was written about loosing your significant other. If you listen to the words of the track and consider the scenario, it was a moment when the division between life and art was almost impossible to distinguish. Much of Natures Pace was recorded in that way, many of the tracks are live takes and the feel of the album looks back to the days of Neil Young, The Band, Credence Clearwater and the classic era of the acoustic singer songwriter. The album is also infused with soulful dub flavours and subtle electronics. Bob Hillary is a natural artist in the most direct sense; he manages to convey his concern for us and the environment we live in, in the most warm and engaging way. His critique of the consumptive speed of contemporary life is offered up in two words (Natures Pace), in a way does not diminish anyone and actually makes you feel good. In a mad world Bob Hillary and the Massive Mellow make sense.


  1. Name
  2. It's All Good
  3. No Matter How Hard
  4. I Feel Light
  5. You Keep Me Warm
  6. Take It Slow
  7. Forever The Soul
  8. Nature's Way
  9. Never Never Land
  10. The Wave Song
  11. Solitude
  12. Hear Mi
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock