THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

These Wilder Things

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
These Wilder Things
These Wilder Things


'These Wilder Things' is full of such timeless tunes from the haunting gospel sounds of 'Trouble & Woe' to the bluegrassy 'One Light Shining' (featuring Jerry Douglas) to the Irish-flavored 'Life Is Long'. An impressive follow-up to her 2010 radio-charting debut 'The Garden', this recording delves deeper into darker, indie-pop sounds, especially on songs like the moody title track or 'Pockets', featuring iconic roots-rocker Mark Knopfler on guitar and vocals. "The album deals with some darker themes and has more of an urgency to it." Ruth says. "About half of the album I recorded with my band - so it certainly has lots of live energy". Featuring an all-star cast of players, the record includes performances by her remarkable touring band: Adam Dobres (guitars), Adrian Dolan (fiddle, mandolin, accordion), Sam Howard (upright bass) and her brother Richard Moody (viola) - as well as special guest appearances by Mark Knopfler, Jerry Douglas, Crooked Still's Aoife O'Donovan, The Wailin' Jennys and noted Celtic players Mike McGoldrick and John McCusker. It was actually John McCusker who first introduced Ruth to Mark Knopfler, who invited her to sing on his 2012 album Privateering (Universal Records). It went so well Ruth was invited to open for his upcoming European tour, and he agreed to sing and play on this new album of Ruth's. She gushes, "Mark is one of my favourite artistsit's been a bit of a dream come true". At times acoustic and understated and at other times electric and adventurous with organ and horns, These Wilder Things explores the midnight heartbreaks and morning revelations of love and loss, bringing us her most personal album to date. "It can be scary to go to some of those darker and deeper places," Ruth says. "But it was rewarding to face it all head onthat is where the real emotional intensity lives and I think that's what moves people." Even the one cover - Bruce Springsteen's 'Dancing in the Dark' - strikes a personal chord sitting easily alongside original radio-friendly tracks like 'One and Only' and 'Nothing Without Love'. Appealing to indie fans as well as lovers of folk and Americana music, 'These Wilder Things' confirms that Ruth Moody is indeed one force to be reckoned with. Ruth Moody is a Juno Award winning songwriter from Winnipeg, Manitoba and founding member of the internationally renowned, Billboard-charting trio The Wailin' Jennys. She has performed in sold-out venues around the world, made numerous critically-acclaimed albums, and appeared more than a dozen times on the Canadian national radio show 'A Prairie Home Companion'. 'These Wilder Things' follows her critically-acclaimed CD 'The Garden', which was nominated for a Juno Award, a Western Canadian Music Award and three Canadian Folk Music Awards.


  1. Name
  2. Trouble and Woe
  3. One and Only
  4. Dancing in the Dark
  5. These Wilder Things
  6. Trees for Skies
  7. Pockets
  8. Make a Change
  9. One Light Shining
  10. Life is Long
  11. Nothing Without Love
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock