THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Medicine Songs

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:


ONE OF THE MOST ORIGINAL AND IMPORTANT VOICES OF OUR TIME. Equal parts activist, educator, songwriter, performer and visual artist, Buffy Sainte-Marie is a champion for indigenous people and the environment through her music, art, education projects and by taking direct political action. One of the most enduring and popular Native American performers, her music has touched millions of people around the world. From her start in New York City's Greenwich Village in the early 1960's alongside Leonard Cohen, Neil Young and Joni Mitchell, Buffy made a name for herself as a gifted songwriter, writing hits for Janis Joplin, Elvis Presley, Barbra Streisand and Neil Diamond. Her most wellknown song is the Academy Award-Winning "Up Where We Belong" from the film 'An Officer And A Gentlemen', but her most acclaimed song is "Universal Soldier", one of the first antiVietnam war anthems to inspire a generation of activists. Coming off her critically acclaimed, Polaris prize winning 2015 album 'Power In The Blood', and after winning the 2016 spirit of Americana Award, Buffy Sainte-Marie has delivered her new album 'Medicine Songs' - and has made it her mission to educate and inform the world using her strongest tool - her music, by - in her own words - "putting the songs to work". The album starts with the new unreleased collaboration with fellow Polaris prize winning indigenous artist Tanya Tagaq, followed by the politically charged "The War Racket." There are also new recordings of some of the most powerful songs Buffy's ever written, including "Bury My Heart At Wounded Knee", "Starwalker", timeless protest classics like "Universal Soldier", "Now That The Buffalo's Gone" and "Little Wheel Spin and Spin", as well as forgotten gems that were simply ahead of their time when first released, like the shimmery, eye-opening "Priests of the Golden Bull" and the chillingly prescient "Disinformation."


  1. Name
  2. You Got To Run
  3. The War Racket
  4. Starwalker
  5. My Country Tis Of Thy People You're Dying
  6. Soldier Blue
  7. No No Keshagesh
  8. Priests Of The Golden Bull
  9. Now That The Buffalo's Gone
  10. Bury My Heart At Wounded Knee
  11. Carry It On
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock