THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Moving East

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Gate Fold Vinyl
Catalog Number:
Moving East
Moving East


New Joel Plaskett-produced album, national tour coming in September.

Now this is big news. One of the true originals in Canadian music has moved from Nashville to Nova Scotia, and is celebrating with music only he could make. Jimmy Rankin's new 'Moving East' is pure East Coast, a homecoming album featuring true stories, tall tales and bittersweet ballads, and the classic folk-rock sound that Rankin helped pioneer.

Just at a time when people are searching out authentic cultural voices, strong stories and well-crafted songs, Rankin has made an unapologetically East Coast folk-rock record, with a raw,unsentimental and current edge. "I'm putting the party back in the kitchen" quips Rankin.

It's called Moving East because that's exactly what Jimmy's done. He's moved back to Nova Scotia after seven years living and working in Nashville. Hooking up with fellow Nova Scotian Joel Plaskett as producer, he's made an album appealing to young and old alike, with songs running the gamut from gritty pub tunes to soulful ballads all featuring great storytelling, and fine songwriting.


  1. Name
  2. Loving You Never Gets Old
  3. No More I'll Go Roving
  4. Thin Ice
  5. The Rawleigh Man
  6. Down At The Shore
  7. Turn That Boat Around
  8. Been Away
  9. These Roads
  10. Highlander
  11. Haul Away The Whale
  12. Dirt 'N' Potatoes Cape Breton Fiddle Medley
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock