THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Head Canon

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Head Canon
Head Canon


An acoustic bass guitar may not seem like an obvious choice as an accompaniment instrument, but Thom shows that this distinctive instrumental voice can find a home in folk music, and that 4 strings are enough to delve into the canon of British folk music. Equal parts interpreter of traditional song and insightful political songwriter, the press has repeatedly compared him to Martin Carthy, Chris Wood, and Billy Bragg. This selection of luminaries doesn't tell the whole story though - from the sparse lament of The City and The Tower to his muscular arrangement of High Germany, Thom's inventive musicality and powerful tenor voice shine through.

Running the gamut from the Fairport-esque folk rock of Ratcliffe Highway to his stripped bare a capella rendition of MacColl's radio ballad Exile, this album is a tour de force by an exciting new artist on the British folk scene.

The album also marks the first time Thom has brought a band together to accompany him. Featuring Ellie Wilson (Stick In The Wheel) on violin and Mike Randon on drums/percussion, this record showcases Thom's unique approach to bass playing, giving the instrument a chance to shine on its own and as part of an ensemble.

Thom's EFDSS funded debut album brings together 11 newly recorded tracks, including 4 new original songs.


  1. Name
  2. High Germany (Trad arr. Ashworth)
  3. Pathfinding (Ashworth)
  4. Poverty Knock (Trad arr. Ashworth)
  5. Look To Windward (Ashworth)
  6. Exile ( MacColl)
  7. Ratcliffe Highway (Trad arr. Ashworth)
  8. Derry Gaol (Trad arr. Ashworth)
  9. Crossing The Water (Ashworth)
  10. The Snow It Melts The Soonest (Trad arr. Ashworth)
  11. John Barleycorn (Trad arr. Ashworth)
  12. The City & The Tower (Ashworth)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock