THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Chasing The Light

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Chasing The Light
Chasing The Light


Windswept big sound third studio release from Englands cinematic septet. Duelling fiddles, uplifting wind and vocal harmonies, breathless grooves and soaring brass crescendos. Since 2010's widely applauded second album 'Forecast', the third release from Birmingham's award-winning septet represents a significant shift up a gear. Drawing on their diverse influences, 'Chasing The Light' sees the band join forces once again with legendary scottish producer Calum Malcolm, in a collection of songs and tunes which explores all the corners of their formidable musical forces. This is folk, but not as you know it; one moment rip-roaring, the next beautifully delicate. The band appeared in 2006 out of the succession of jams and sessions at the Betty Fox School of Ballet in Birmingham, then legenary party venue, from where they take their name. Robin Beatty's songwriting and screen composition credentials and Tom Chapman's fixation with the rhythms of the Peruvian cajón found Samantha Norman and Helen Lancaster's duo relationship just as familiar roaring through celtic fiddle tunes as string quartet recitals. Double bass virtuoso Adam Jarvis and Aaron Diaz's scandinavian jazz trumpet stylings came together with Laura Carter's sweet vocal and woodwind and the band was born. Also available TRANSCD03 'Based On A True Story' TRANSCD04 'Forecast'


  1. Name
  2. From The Air
  3. The Long Walk
  4. Sula Sgier
  5. Rass Al - Maa
  6. Silver Tide
  7. Craigie Hall
  8. Dancing Ledge
  9. Hiraeth
  10. Swifts And Martins
  11. The North Edge
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

Search engine powered by ElasticSuite