THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets


Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:


Singer/multi-instrumentalist McGhee was playing "Americana"' long before it was called "Americana"! When not doing his "day job" (playing sessions and producing records for other artists), he was dividing his time between London and Austin, Texas, touring and recording with his crack band of "half Irish, half Texan & half English" musicians, the band of choice incidentally for many legendary touring American roots artists. From the late 70's to the mid-90's he released a string of beautifully crafted and critically acclaimed albums. Then seriously failing health curtailed his touring and recording output and after 2008's BLUE BLUE NIGHT, McGhee withdrew from sight. Then in 2015 BORDERS appeared, a superbly packaged 3-CD career retrospective which demonstrated once again what a gifted songwriter and musician he is. Now comes COMALA, a brand new offering from McGhee, carefully put together over a long time, "Ten Long Years" as the opening song proclaims. Most of the old band appear and the 14 all new McGhee songs are among his very best work, from the flamenco influenced "Burning Bridges, Raising Fences", a chilling indictment of the times we live in, to the sublime "1963" which will resonate with anyone whose "dancehall nights" were back in the 60's, to the blistering multitracked Spanish guitars of "Macondo", each track comes finely crafted musically, with lyrically not a wasted syllable. So, remember the old days? ... when you'd listen to an album straight through? Try it, take 63 minutes and 11 seconds of your time, you won't regret it. And why COMALA? Well, it's all in the accompanying booklet, but in Wes's own words ..." it's the ghosts of the miles and the trials, the occasional smiles, that were around for a while, then just slipped out of style ... and were gone!"


  1. Name
  2. Ten Long Years
  3. City Lights, Rain And Tears
  4. Cocktail Conversation
  5. Time Ticks Along
  6. Two Steps Back
  7. Blue Cajun Angel
  8. Macondo
  9. All Broke Down
  10. 1963
  11. I'll Be Damned
  12. Blue Town
  13. Burning Bridges, Raising Fences
  14. Who's Gonna Tell These Stories
  15. Mexican Love Songs
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock