THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CDs | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Tru Thoughts Covers 2

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Tru Thoughts Covers 2
Tru Thoughts Covers 2


The second instalment of the Tru Thoughts Covers compilation series brings together some of the intriguing cover versions that have been released and loved as album tracks, singles or one-offs on the label. As well as contributions from familiar Tru Thoughts artists there are some previously unreleased tunes that have been sought out and signed specifically for this compilation, with La Grima's dub style rework of Nirvana, Fingathing taking Donna Summer down a disco jazz tip, and Nizzle Hizzle transforming War's "The World Is A Ghetto". Opening in a deep, downtempo direction, the album kicks off with Quantic and Alice Russell exploring a gospel sound on the hugely popular "I'll Keep My Light In My Window", taken from their acclaimed 'Look Around The Corner' collaborative LP. The Bamboos take James Blake to a soul basement, with Megan Washington on vocals; Zed Bias tackles a Soul II Soul classic whilst Kinny and Harleighblu bring their own unique and illuminating versions of The Cure and Eurythmics, respectively. Ramping up the raucous factor, The Hot 8 Brass Band give a new meaning to The Specials' iconic Ghost Town by transposing it onto a post-Katrina New Orleans, and Quantic gives a Cumbia rendition of a Dr Dre classic, while Youngblood Brass Band rock up with a club and festival favourite in the shape of their punchy instrumental brass takeover of Rufus and Chaka Khan's "Ain't Nobody". A great cover version has the power to surprise, amuse, blur genre boundaries, cause debate or simply get people dancing to something they never knew they loved. All these tracks have proved popular amongst a diverse range of fans, DJs and radio shows across the world, and it is quite something to hear them all together. The albums comes out on CD, alongside a special blue vinyl version.


  1. Name
  2. Quantic & Alice Russell With The Combo Bárbaro Ill Keep My Light In My Window
  3. Natural Self The Valleys feat. Tanya Auclair & Milly Blue
  4. The Bamboos The Wilhelm Scream feat. Megan Washington
  5. Alice Russell - Im The Man, That Will Find You
  6. La Grima Lithium
  7. Belleruche Mirror In The Bathroom
  8. Quantic Y Su Conjunto Los Miticos Del Ritmo Nuthin But A G Thing (Dre En Cumbia)
  9. Harleighblu Whos That Girl?
  10. Hot 8 Brass Band Ghost Town
  11. Mark de Clive-Lowe & The Rotterdam Jazz Orchestra Caravan
  12. Fingathing I Feel Love feat. Jesca Hoop
  13. Zed Bias Fairplay feat. Jenna G
  14. Nizzle Hizzle The World Is A Ghetto
  15. Saravah Soul Fire
  16. Youngblood Brass Band Aint Nobody
  17. Kinny The Love Cats
  18. Quantic & Anita Tijoux Doo Wop (That Thing)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite