THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CDs | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

101 Reasons

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
101 Reasons
101 Reasons


101 Reasons is the debut album from new signing J-Felix on Tru Thoughts. The album showcases the Brighton based producer's addictive musical style, with a heavy '80s funk lilt, Jazz inflections and a dubby rhythmic driving force. Originally from Bristol, Joe F Newman grew up on a diet of D&B, hip hop and dubwise music, and was inspired by the approach of those he saw taking the DIY route in the electrically exciting scene of his hometown. After discovering the sources of so many of the samples he heard, he then fell in love with all things funk, jazz and soul, developing a particular taste for the P-funk and boogie sounds which now come through heavily in his music. "The 80's wasn't good for much, so I often hear, but when it comes to funk it was a fantastic decade!" he enthuses.Eager to create his own sonic stamp, J-Felix steers away from samples in his music, instead layering up his own vocal and instrumental performances; self-taught on a range of instruments including drums, guitar, bass, keys and synths, he has an impressive range to choose from at his fingertips. "A sublime journey through squelchy electro-funk, tripped-out neo soul and woozy hip-hop beats" NME


  1. Name
  2. 101 Reasons
  3. Patience Feat. Abi Flynn
  4. Late Night S.O.S
  5. Reason 90 [The Funky Individual]
  6. Don't Mean A Thing
  7. Time Feat. Abi Flynn
  8. Keep It Up (Who's Groove!?)
  9. Lady T
  10. Show 'Em How It's Done Feat. Sophie Paul
  11. Keep On (We Ain't Here For Long)
  12. Reason 1 [Moviestars]
  13. Let Me Go Feat. Seychelles
  14. So Nice (It's Got To Be)
  15. Reason 69 [Make U Mine]
  16. One Of These Days (I Just Wanna Treat You Right)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite