THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CDs | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

English & Scottish Folk Ballads

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
English & Scottish Folk Ballads
English & Scottish Folk Ballads


This amazing album, originally released in 1964, was put together as an overview of the folk ballad in Britain, the cornerstone of what we collectively think of as folk music. The original album was expanded on its original CD release in 1996 with seven extra tracks by such wonderful singers as Anne Briggs, Mike Waterson and Louis Killen. The great folk ballads are here in definitive renditions. A.L.Loyd writes detailed notes placing the folk ballad in context, along with a history of each of the 18 songs. "The folk ballad is a folk tale put into verse and set to music. Among British ballads are some of the oldest as well as the greatest folk songs we have." from the sleeve notes by A.L. Lloyd.


  1. Name
  2. Henry Martin - A.L. Lloyd
  3. THe Baron Of Brackley - Ewan MacColl
  4. Reynardine - Anne Briggs
  5. The Bramble Briar - Louis Killen
  6. Jack Orion - A.L. Lloyd
  7. The Cruel Ship's Carpenter - Mike Waterson
  8. The Cruel Mother - A.L. Lloyd
  9. Lord Randal - Ewan MacColl
  10. The Bitter Withy - A.L. Lloyd
  11. The Forester - Norman Kennedy
  12. Willie O Winsbury - Anne Briggs
  13. The 'Sweet Kumadie' - Ewan MacColl
  14. The Demon Lover - A.L. Lloyd
  15. Young Edwin In The Lowlands - Louis Killen
  16. Hughie The Graeme - Ewan MacColl
  17. Drumadelgie - Norman Kennedy
  18. The Prickly Bush - A.L. Lloyd
  19. The Beggar Man - Ewan MacColl
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

Search engine powered by ElasticSuite