THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

A Bed Of Roses

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
A Bed Of Roses
A Bed Of Roses


Recorded shortly before her untimely death in 1998, A Bed Of Roses is a fitting tribute to Lal Waterson's unique talent as a singer and songwriter. Lal started her singing career in the 1960s as a member of The Watersons - one of the most influential folk groups of its era. In the following years, Lal began writing songs and with her brother Mike Waterson produced the now legendary 'Bright Phoebus' in 1972. She continued writing songs, but nothing came out until 'Once In A Blue Moon' in 1996, which was rapturously received. Buoyed by its success, she began recording a new set of songs with her son Oliver Knight again producing and playing guitar with her. Finished before her death, A Bed Of Roses was released posthumously and was a fitting testimonial to her great talent. Recently, The Daughters Of Albion, a concert by the cream of English female folk talent at the Barbican and also shown on BBC TV, featured three of Lal's songs, the only songwriter to be so honoured. The All Music Guide, the music encyclopaedia and website has this to say about Lal Waterson and A Bed Of Roses: "Not only a superb vocalist with an impeccable sense of timing and phrasing, but one of the most articulate, sophisticated writers to have emerged from the British folk movement." At mid-price is the perfect time to catch up on a great album by a great talent whose reputation and standing keeps growing with every year.


  1. Name
  2. Memories
  3. Foolish One
  4. Just A Note
  5. Columbine
  6. At First She Starts
  7. Bath Time
  8. Train To Bay
  9. Long Vacation
  10. Party Games
  11. Together
  12. Migrating Bird
  13. Lullaby
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite