THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Sarah Makem: The Heart Is True (The Voice of The People Vol.24)

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
The Heart Is True
The Heart Is True


The widely acclaimed VOICE Of The PEOPLE series continues with four further volumes of the finest Traditional Song, edited by Dr Reg Hall and compiled by some of the foremost folksong experts. Rod Stradling was invited to select and present his choice of material for this volume. A singer and musician himself with over four decades of experience, he has associated regularly with countless traditional singers and musicians and for many years he played the melodeon in the Bampton Morris. Sarah Makem has been widely regarded as one of the finest Irish singers of Traditional song. This collection has been carefully compiled from classic recordings made in the 1950s and 60s. Rod Stradling carefully hunted out sound recordings that would have otherwise remained in obscurity and for providing a wealth of biographical material. Jewel case with 58 page booklet and slipcase


  1. Name
  2. As I Roved Out
  3. The Banks Of Red Roses
  4. Barbara Allen
  5. The Butcher Boy
  6. The Canny Ould Lad
  7. Caroline & The Sailor
  8. Derry Gaol
  9. The Factory Girl
  10. Our Ship She's Ready
  11. It Was In The Month Of January
  12. Jackets Green
  13. The Jolly Thresher
  14. The Laurel Wear
  15. Robert Burns And His Highland Mary
  16. Mary Of Kilmore
  17. A Servant In Her Master's Garden
  18. I Courted A Wee Girl
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide